Oklahoma Sooners

Dede Westbrook, D’Onta Foreman represent Big 12 in College Football Awards

d'onta foreman texas longhorns

On Thursday night, Texas RB D’Onta Foreman won the Doak Walker Award, while Oklahoma WR Dede Westbrook took home the Fred Biletnikoff Award.

Texas running back D’Onta Foreman may have been snubbed as a Heisman finalist, but he did win the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation’s best running back.

Foreman finished the season with 2,028 rushing yards, averaging 6.3 yards per carry, along with 15 touchdowns. He announced just last week he would be entering the NFL Draft.

He leaves Texas having run for more than 100 yards in 13 consecutive games, a new school record.

Foreman became the second player in UT history to rush for more than 2,000 yards in a single season. He joins Ricky Williams (1997, 1998) and Cedric Benson (2004) as the only Longhorns to ever win the award.

In a statement, Foreman said, “This means so much to me and my family, and of course our team. To have a 2,000-yard rusher and a Doak Walker Award winner, it means a lot to my teammates and offensive linemen who helped me get here. It means a lot to win the same award that Ricky (Williams) and Cedric (Benson) won. To be up there with those guys, to be a part of that running back club, it’s something I always dreamed about.”

Then, there’s Oklahoma WR Dede Westbrook who won the Biletnikoff Award given to the nation’s best wide receiver. 

Westwood had a huge season with 74 catches for 1,465 yards and 16 touchdowns.

Once conference play started, Westbrook had 100 or more yards receiving every game but one.

His best game came against Texas where he had 10 catches for 232 yards and three touchdown in the win.

Westbrook is the second consecutive Big 12 player to win the award. Baylor’s Corey Coleman won it last year.

Westbrook’s teammate, quarterback Baker Mayfield, was a finalist for the Davey O’Brein Award (best QB) and Maxwell Award (top player), but lost out to Clemson’s Deshaun Watson and Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, respectively.

Westbrook and Mayfield will be in New York City this weekend for the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

Meantime, former Oklahoma QB Trevor Knight won the Wuerffel Trophy, an award given annually to the college football player “who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.”

**If you want a chance to win FREE Big 12 gear from your favorite team, be sure to sign up for our weekly newsletter! ** 


Most Popular

To Top