Baylor Bears

Heartland College Sports All-Big 12 Football Team Announced

Big 12 football logo

For the first time ever, Heartland College Sports has put together its own list of season awards as well as our All-Big 12 team. Our staff of writers all had votes. Take it from us, our list is much more legitimate than the Big 12 list where SIDs end of voting for the coaches and there is obvious favoritism going on. None here!


2017 All-Big 12 Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Year

Baker Mayfield, quarterback, Oklahoma Sooners

Co-Defensive Player of the Year

DeShon Elliott, safety, Texas Longhorns

Obo Okoronkwo, linebacker, Oklahaoma Sooners

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Will Grier, quarterback, West Virginia Mountaineers

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Ben Banogu, defensive end, TCU Horned Frogs

Co-Offensive Freshmen of the Year

Trey Sermon, running back, Oklahoma Sooners

Jalen Reagor, wide receiver, TCU Horned Frogs

Defensive Freshman of the Year

Ross Blacklock, defesive tackle, TCU Horned Frogs

Coach of the Year

Matt Campbell, Iowa State Cyclones


2017 HCS All-Big 12 First Team


QB: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma Sooners

RB: Justice Hill, Oklahoma State Cowboys

RB: David Montgomery, Iowa State Cyclones

WR: James Washington, Oklahoma State Cowboys*

WR: David Sills V, West Virginia Mountaineers

WR: Denzel Mims, Baylor Bears

TE: Mark Andrews, Oklahoma Sooners*

FB: Dmitri Flowers, Oklahoma Sooners*

OL: Dalton Risner, Kansas State Wildcats

OL: Orlando Brown, Oklahoma Sooners

OL: Zach Crabtree, Oklahoma State Cowboys

OL: Jake Campos, Iowa State Cyclones

OL: Matt Pryor, TCU Horned Frogs

PK: Austin Seibert, Oklahoma Sooners

KR/PR: KaVontae Turpin, TCU

KR/PR: D.J. Reed, Kansas State




DL: Daniel Wise, Kansas Jayhawks*

DL: Ben Banogu, TCU Horned Frogs

DL: DeQuinton Osborne, Oklahoma State Cowboys

DL: Poona Ford, Texas Longhorns

LB: Malik Jefferson, Texas Longhorns

LB: Obo Okoronkwo, Oklahoma Sooners*

LB: David Long, West Virginia Mountaineers

DB: DeShon Elliott, Texas Longhorns

DB: Justus Parker, Texas Tech Red Raiders

DB: D.J. Reed, Kansas State Wildcats

DB: Kris Boyd, Texas Longhorns

P: Michael Dickson, Texas Longhorns*

*Unanimous selection


2017 HCS All-Big 12 Second Team


QB: Will Grier, West Virginia Mountaineers

RB: Darius Anderson, TCU Horned Frogs

RB: Rodney Anderson, Oklahoma Sooners

WR: Keke Coutee, Texas Tech Red Raiders

WR: Allen Lazard, Iowa State Cyclones

FB: Winston Dimel, Kansas State Wildcats

OL: Julian Good-Jones, Iowa State Cyclones

OL: Austin Schlottmann, TCU Horned Frogs

OL: Dru Samia, Oklahoma Sooners

OL: Eric Wren, Oklahoma Sooners

OL: Bobby Evans, Oklahoma Sooners

PK: Matthew McCrane, Kansas State

KR/PR: Marcus Simms, West Virginia Mountaineers

KR/PR: Reggie Hemphill-Mapps, Texas Longhorns



DL: Ray Lima, Iowa State Cyclones

DL: Mat Boesen, TCU Horned Frogs

DL: J.D. Waggoner, Iowa State Cyclones

DL: Will Geary, Kansas State Wildcats

LB: Joel Lanning, Iowa State Cyclones

LB: Travin Howard, TCU Horned Frogs

LB: Joe Dineen, Kansas Jayhawks

DB: Holton Hill, Texas Longhorns

DB: Ranthony Texada, TCU Horned Frogs

DB: Kamari Cotton-Moya, Iowa State Cyclones

DB: Nick Orr, TCU Horned Frogs

P: Nick Walsh, Kansas State

To Top