Big 12 News

Oklahoma Sooners QB Kyler Murray Wins 2018 Heisman Trophy

NCAA Football: Heisman Trophy Presentation

For a second straight year, an Oklahoma Sooners quarterback has won the Heisman Trophy. Kyler Murray beat out Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins.

In his likely only season starting for the Sooners, Murray put up video game-like numbers in leading OU to a 12-1 record and a second straight berth in the College Football Playoff. In 13 games, he’s thrown for 4,053 yards, with 40 touchdowns to seven interceptions, while completing 70.9% of his passes. On the ground, he rushed for 892 yards and 11 touchdowns.

The Sooners had the most efficient offense in America this season. Murray’s passing yards were the third-most in the country behind Haskins and Washington State’s Gardner Minshew.

After winning the award, Murray said, “I’ve worked my whole life to fulfill my goals… this is an honor, something that I’ll never forget and I’ll always treasure for the rest of my life.”

When it came to his coaches, he added, “To Coach Stoops, you and your family have been nothing but supportive to me since the day I stepped on campus… Coach Riley, nobody really knows how hard these past couple of years have been but you and my family, but through it all you pushed me, kept me going, kept me focused. You pushed me harder than any coach ever has and I want to say thank you for believing in me and allowing me to be the quarterback of this team.”

It’s the seventh Heisman Trophy winner from Oklahoma, joining Ohio State and USC for the most ever.

Murray was named on 92% of the total ballots, which is third all-time behind Marcus Mariota and Troy Smith. Tua’s 1,871 points, behind Murray’s 2,167 points, are the second-most ever for a runner up.

**Sign up here for our HCS weekly e-mails for a chance to win FREE Heartland College Sports and Big 12 team gear!!**

To Top