Big 12 News

College Football America Yearbook Releases 2019 All-Big 12 Preseason Team

jalen hurts press conference sooners

Jalen Hurts, who transferred from Alabama to play quarterback at Oklahoma as a senior, and Iowa State defensive end JaQuan Bailey, lead the 2019 College Football America Yearbook’s All-Big 12 Preseason team.

The College Football America Yearbook has selected an All-Big 12 preseason team every year since 2012.

Hurts, who won a national championship with Alabama in 2017, comes to OU with 5,626 yards passing, 48 touchdown passes and 12 interceptions, along with nearly 2,000 yards and 23 touchdowns. He takes over an offense that has produced the last two Heisman Trophy winners — Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray. 


Two of Hurts’ new targets — wide receiver CeeDee Lamb and tight end Grant Calcaterra — made the team, along with Sooners linebacker Kenneth Murray. Running back Kennedy Brooks also earned selection, giving OU the most selections of any Big 12 school. 

Bailey leads three Cyclones on the preseason team’s defense. The All-Big 12 Second Team pick from a year ago had a career high with 8 sacks last season. 

He is joined on the team by his linemate, Ray Lima, one of the conference’s top interior defenders, and defensive back Greg Elsworth. Offensive lineman Josh Knipfel made the team on offense.

Baylor defensive end James Lynch and linebacker Clay Johnston lead the Bears, who are looking for a second straight bowl bid under third-year coach Matt Rhule.  

Kansas had three selections — defensive back Hasan Defense, punter Kyle Thompson and Pooka Williams, selected as the all-purpose player and as a running back. Williams will miss the first game of the season due to a suspension. 

Kansas State, led by new head coach Chris Klieman, had three selections — defensive lineman Reggie Walker, linebacker Jay Dineen Jr. and kicker Blake Lynch. 

Oklahoma State wide receiver Tylan Wallace, a Biletnikoff Award finalist from a year ago, made the team, along with Chuba Hubbard, who earned a spot as the team’s kickoff returner. 

Texas had two selections — center Zach Shackelford and defensive back Caden Sterns — as the Longhorns seek to upend the Sooners for Big 12 supremacy after last season’s Big 12 Championship game loss that Longhorns head coach Tom Herman still finds distracting.


TCU offensive tackle Lucas Niang made the team, along with Jalen Reagor, the Horned Frogs’ top returning wide receiver, who earned selection as the team’s punt returner. 

Texas Tech, now under head coach Matt Wells, saw offensive lineman Jack Anderson and defensive back Adrian Frye make the team. 

West Virginia offensive lineman Josh Sills made the team under new head coach Neal Brown. 


The College Football America 2019 Yearbook features more than 930 college football teams from the United States and Canada in more than 250 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes updates on club football, one-year postgraduate prep/sports academies and Mexican college football, along with dozens of action shots and stadium photos taken by the CFA staff. 

The print edition is available online via and other major retailers such as and Books-A-Million.

2019 Book links:

College Football America All-Big 12 Preseason Team


QB Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma, SR

RB Kennedy Brooks, Oklahoma, SO

RB Pooka Williams Jr., Kansas, SO

WR Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma St., JR

WR CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma, JR

TE Grant Calcaterra, Oklahoma, JR

OL Lucas Niang, TCU, SR

OL Jack Anderson, Texas Tech, JR

OL Josh Sills, West Virginia, SR

OL Josh Knipfel, Iowa State, SR

C Zach Shackelford, Texas, SR


DL JaQuan Bailey, Iowa State, JR

DL Ray Lima, Iowa State, SR

DL James Lynch, Baylor, JR

DL Reggie Walker, Kansas State, SR

LB Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma, JR

LB Clay Johnston, Baylor, SR

LB Jay Dineen Jr., Kansas State, SO

DB Greg EIsworth, Iowa State, JR

DB Caden Sterns, Texas, SO

DB Adrian Frye, Texas Tech, SO

DB Hasan Defense, Kansas, SR


PK Blake Lynch, Kansas State, JR

P Kyle Thompson, Kansas, JR

KR Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma St., SO

PR Jalen Reagor, TCU, JR

AP Pooka Williams Jr., Kansas, SO

**We now have FREE Big 12 Forums here at Heartland College Sports. Go sign up here and join our conversation! **

To Top