Big 12 News

Half of Big 12 QBs Named to Davey O’Brien Award Preseason Watch List

NCAA Football: Camping World Bowl-Notre Dame vs Iowa State

In what has become expected in the Big 12, top-notch quarterback play should ring true again this fall.

A nation-best 50 percent of Big 12 programs have a quarterback named to the 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List.

Seniors Charlie Brewer (Baylor) and Sam Ehlinger (Texas), junior Brock Purdy (Iowa State), plus sophomores Spencer Sanders (Oklahoma State) and Alan Bowman (Texas Tech) are all on the watch list.


The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Appearing on the preseason watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. The final midseason watch list will be released on Tuesday, Oct. 20. Then, sixteen semifinalists selected from the final watch list will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 10. The Foundation will announce the three finalists two weeks later (Tuesday, Nov. 24). The 2020 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 10, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The Big 12 has won the award 10 times since 1998, including two of the past three years with Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma) in 2017 followed by Kyler Murray (Oklahoma) in 2018, who also both went on to win the Heisman Trophy.

**Want to win a $25 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

To Top