Baylor Bears

MaCio Teague, Ochai Agbaji Named to Jerry West Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Kansas

Two Big 12 players were named to the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award watch list, announced on Tuesday.

Baylor guard MaCio Teague and Kansas Ochai Agbaji are all on the watch list for the award, given to the nation’s best shooting guard at the end of the season.

The winner of the award will be announced on April 9, 2021.

Teague emerged last year as one of Baylor’s best players, as he was among the Big 12 leaders in points (13.9), rebounds (4.6), and assists (1.9). Teague was an All-Big 12 Second Team and Newcomer Team selection last year.

Agbaji returns for his junior season after averaging nearly 10 points per game and 4.2 rebounds per game last year. He moved into the starting lineup full-time and saw his minutes per game doubled.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).


2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Watch List

John Petty Jr., Alabama

Terry Taylor, Austin Peay

MaCio Teague, Baylor

Matt Bradley, California

James Bouknight, Connecticut

Mitch Ballock, Creighton

Kellan Grady, Davidson

Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy

DJ Steward, Duke

Scottie Lewis, Florida

MJ Walker, Florida State

Joel Ayayi, Gonzaga

Caleb Mills, Houston

Joe Wieskamp, Iowa

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

Terrence Clarke, Kentucky

Franz Wagner, Michigan

Jordan Goodwin, Saint Louis

Justin Moore, Villanova

Paul Scruggs, Xavier

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 


Most Popular

To Top