Big 12 News

Four Big 12 Players Named to NABC Division I Player of the Year Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at West Virginia

Four Big 12 players were named to the NABC Division I Player of the Year Award Watch List on Monday.

Baylor guard Jared Butler, Oklahoma State guard Cade Cunningham, Kansas guard Marcus Garrett and West Virginia forward Oscar Tshiebwe are on the list, among 20 of the best players in the nation.

Butler was one of the most consistent players in the Big 12 last year, averaging 16 points per game, which makes him the leading returning scorer in the conference entering next season. Butler also averaged 3.2 rebounds, 3.1 assists per game.

Cunningham, a true freshman, goes to Oklahoma State as the No. 1 recruit in the 2020 Class, as ranked by Cunningham is a likely starter for the Cowboys, despite being a true freshman.

Garrett, a senior, averaged 9.2 points, 4.5 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 1.8 steals per game last year, along with winning the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year and the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Tshiebwe, 6-foot-9, is coming off a 2019-20 season in which he earned All-Big 12 Second Team, All-Big 12 Freshman Team and All-Big 12 Newcomer Team honors. He led the Mountaineers with 11.2 points and 9.3 rebounds per game and was one of the most consistent players in the Big 12 last season.


2021 NABC Division I Player of the Year Preseason Watch List

Brandon Boston Jr., Kentucky (G-Fr.)

Garrison Brooks, North Carolina (F-Sr.)

Jared Butler, Baylor (G-Jr.)

Jalen Crutcher, Dayton (G-Sr.)

Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State (G-Fr.)

Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (G-Jr.)

Marcus Garrett, Kansas (G-Sr.)

Luka Garza, Iowa (C-Sr.)

Collin Gillespie, Villanova (G-Sr.)

Sam Hauser, Virginia (F-R-Sr.)

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana (F-So.)

Keyontae Johnson, Florida (F-Jr.)

Corey Kispert, Gonzaga (F-Sr.)

Remy Martin, Arizona State (G-Sr.)

Evan Mobley, USC (F-Fr.)

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, Villanova (F-So.)

Oscar Tshiebwe, West Virginia (F-So.)

Trendon Watford, LSU (F-So.)

McKinley Wright IV, Colorado (G-Sr.)

Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton (G-Jr.)

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

To Top