Big 12 News

Matt Campbell Named Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Finalist

NCAA Football: Iowa at Iowa State

Iowa State Cyclones head coach Matt Campbell has been named a finalist for the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

Campbell was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year and joins an extensive list of other coaches to be a finalist for this prestigious honor.

Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Finalists

Tom Allen, Indiana
Matt Campbell, Iowa State
Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina
Mario Cristobal, Oregon
Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
Nick Saban, Alabama
Dabo Swinney, Clemson


Campbell is wrapping up his fifth season in Ames with the Cyclones where he took the team to an 8-3 record and an appearance in the Big 12 Championship Game, which they lost to Oklahoma on Saturday 27-21.

Matt Campbell took over a program that had historically been a doormat in the Big 12 Conference, and after going 3-9 in 2016, has gone 8-5, 8-5, 7-6 and 8-3.

With the ascension of Iowa State, Campbell has continued to be connected to any prominent job opening that might exist. However he has stayed loyal to the Cyclones, and there’s very little evidence that is changing anytime soon.

The Cyclones are set to take on the Oregon Ducks in the Fiesta Bowl next week. The game kicks off on Saturday, January, 2nd at 3:00 p.m. CST.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

To Top