Big 12 News

Breece Hall, Darius Stills, Joseph Ossai Lead Big 12 on AP All-America Team

NCAA Football: West Virginia at Iowa State

Iowa State running back Breece Hall led a trio of Big 12 first-team selections to the 2020 Associated Press All-America football team, released on Monday.

Hall, who is one of the finalists for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation’s best running back, is coming off a sophomore season in which he rushed for 1,436 yards and 19 touchdowns, as he helped the Cyclones reach the Big 12 Championship game for the first time. The Cyclones lost to the Oklahoma Sooners in that game, but will face Oregon in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 2.

Two Big 12 defenders made the First Team. West Virginia defensive lineman Darius Stills and Texas linebacker Joseph Ossai, both of which are headed for the NFL Draft, made the team.

Stills, a senior, wrapped up 2020 with 22 tackles, 3.5 sacks and 7.5 tackles for a loss. Stills is the Mountaineers’ latest First-Team All-American, with the last being Tavon Austin in 2021. The Mountaineers are set to face Army West Point in the Liberty Bowl on Dec. 31.


Ossai declared for the NFL Draft earlier this month after a productive junior season with the Longhorns. Ossai finished 2020 with 55 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, five sacks and three forced fumbles. Texas has not had a first-team All-American since Malik Jefferson in 2017.

Four Big 12 players made the AP Second Team — Iowa State linebacker Mike Rose, Oklahoma linebacker Nic Bonitto, TCU cornerback Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson and TCU safety Trevon Moehrig.

Five Big 12 players made the AP Third Team — Texas offensive tackle Sam Cosmi, Oklahoma center Creed Humphrey, Iowa State tight end Charlie Kolar, Iowa State defensive end Ja’Quan Bailey and West Virginia safety Tykee Smith

The complete team is below.

Associated Press 2020 All-America Team

(Big 12 players in bold)

First team


QB: Mac Jones, junior, Alabama

RB: Najee Harris, senior, Alabama

RB: Breece Hall, sophomore, Iowa State

OT: Brady Christensen, junior, BYU

OT: Alex Leatherwood, senior, Alabama

OG: Aaron Banks, senior, Notre Dame

OG: Wyatt Davis, junior, Ohio State

C: Landon Dickerson, senior, Alabama

TE: Kyle Pitts, junior, Florida

WR: DeVonta Smith, senior, Alabama

WR: Elijah Moore, junior, Mississippi

AP: Travis Etienne, senior, Clemson

K: Jose Borregales, senior, Miami


DE: Rashad Weaver, senior, Pitt

DE: Tarron Jackson, senior, Coastal Carolina

DT: Daviyon Nixon, junior, Iowa

DT: Darius Stills, senior, West Virginia

LB: Zaven Collins, junior, Tulsa

LB: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, senior, Notre Dame

LB: Joseph Ossai, junior, Texas

CB: Patrick Surtain II, junior, Alabama

CB: Shaun Wade, senior, Ohio State

S: Talanoa Hufanga, junior, USC

S: Brandon Joseph, redshirt freshman, Northwestern

P: Pressley Harvin III, senior, Georgia Tech


Second team


QB: Kyle Trask, senior, Florida

RB: Jaret Patterson, junior, Buffalo

RB: Javonte Williams, junior, North Carolina

OT: Liam Eichenberg, senior, Notre Dame

OT: Christian Darrisaw, junior, Virginia Tech

OG: Cain Madden, junior, Marshall

OG: Kenyon Green, sophomore, Texas A&M

C: Tyler Linderbaum, sophomore, Iowa

TE: Hunter Long, junior, Boston College

WR: Jaelon Darden, senior, North Texas

WR: Jonathan Adams Jr., senior, Arkansas State

AP: Kadarius Toney, senior, Florida

K: Cade York, sophomore, LSU


DE: Jaelen Phillips, senior, Miami

DE: Patrick Jones, senior, Pitt

DT: Alim McNeil, junior, North Carolina State

DT: Haskell Garrett, senior, Ohio State

LB: Mike Rose, junior, Iowa State

LB: Nik Bonitto, sophomore, Oklahoma

LB: Nick Bolton, junior, Missouri

CB: Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, sophomore, TCU

CB: Ahmad Gardner, sophomore, Cincinnati

S: Trevon Moehrig, junior, TCU

S: James Wiggins, senior, Cincinnati

P: Lou Hedley, junior, Miami

Third team


QB: Trevor Lawrence, junior, Clemson

RB: Michael Carter, senior, North Carolina

RB: Mohamed Ibrahim, junior, Minnesota

OT: Darian Kinnard, junior, Kentucky

OT: Samuel Cosmi, junior, Texas

OG: Ben Cleveland, senior, Georgia

OG: Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame

C: Creed Humphrey, junior, Oklahoma

TE: Charlie Kolar, junior, Iowa State

WR: Dyami Brown, junior, North Carolina

WR: Ty Fryfogle, senior, Indiana

AP: Avery Williams, senior, Boise State

K: Jake Oldroyd, sophomore, BYU


DE: JaQuan Bailey, senior, Iowa State

DE: Kayvon Thibodeaux, sophomore, Oregon

DT: Christian Barmore, sophomore, Alabama

DT: C.J. Brewer, senior, Coastal Carolina

LB: Zion Tupuola-Fetui, junior, Washington

LB: Micah McFadden, junior, Indiana

LB: Dylan Moses, senior, Alabama

CB: Greg Newsome, junior, Northwestern

CB: Eli Ricks, freshman, LSU

S: Kyle Hamilton, sophomore, Notre Dame

S: Tykee Smith, sophomore, West Virginia

P: Jake Camarda, junior, Georgia

To Top