Big 12 News

Breece Hall Leads Big 12 as Only Player Named to AFCA All-America First Team

NCAA Football: Texas at Iowa State

Iowa State running back Breece Hall continued his run first-team All-American selections on Friday, as he was the only Big 12 player to make the American Football Coaches Association’s All-America First Team.  

Hall, who was already to the First Team of the Associated Press All-America team and the Football Writers Association of America All-America team earlier this week, will play for the Cyclones on Jan. 2 in the Fiesta Bowl against Oregon. Entering the game Hall has 1,436 rushing yards and 19 touchdowns. 

The AFCA team is voted on by the game’s coaches. 

Several familiar names made the AFCA Second Team. 

Oklahoma State wide receiver Tylan Wallace earned second-team honors after catching 59 passes for 922 yards and six touchdowns.  

Iowa State tight end Charlie Kolar made the cut for the second team. The junior tight end had 39 receptions for 538 yards and 6 touchdowns this season.  


Oklahoma center Creed Humphrey, considered one of the best centers in college football, also made the Second Team. He is the reigning Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year. 

Texas defensive end/linebacker Joseph Ossai made the second team defense as a defensive lineman. He had made the AP and FWAA First Teams as a linebacker. Ossai declared for the NFL Draft earlier this month after a junior season in which he had 55 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, five sacks and three forced fumbles.  

TCU safety Trevon Moehrig made the cut after making 50 tackles, along with intercepting two passes and defending nine passes in 2020. 

Baylor received a mention on the AFCA team, as Trestan Ebner was named the Second-Team All-Purpose player. The senior was the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year, was second in the Big 12 in kick-return average (32.2), first in kickoff returns for touchdowns (2) and fourth in all-purpose yards per game (116.3)  

AFCA 2020 All-America Team 

(Big 12 players in bold) 

First team  


QB: Mac Jones, Alabama 

RB: Najee Harris, Alabama 

RB: Breece Hall, Iowa State 

WR: DeVonta Smith, Alabama 

WR: Elijah Moore, Mississippi 

TE: Kyle Pitts, Florida 

OL: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama 

OL: Liam Eichenberg, Notre Dame 

C: Landon Dickerson, Alabama 

OL: Wyatt Davis, Ohio State 

OL: Aaron Banks, Notre Dame 


DL: Tarron Jackson, Coastal Carolina 

DL: Daviyon Nixon, Iowa 

DL: Rashad Weaver, Pitt 

DL: Jaelan Phillips, Miami (FL) 

LB: Zaven Collins, Tulsa 

LB: Dylan Moses, Alabama 

LB: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame 

DB: Patrick Surtain II, Alabama 

DB: Shaun Wade, Ohio State 

DB: Derek Stingley Jr., LSU 

DB: Brandon Joseph, Northwestern 

Special Teams 

P: Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech 

K: Jose Borregales, Miami (FL) 

AR: Avery Williams, Boise State 


Second team  


QB: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson 

RB: Jaret Patterson, Buffalo 

RB: Travis Etienne, Clemson 

WR: Jaelon Darden, North Texas 

WR: Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State 

TE: Charlie Kolar, Iowa State 

OL: Brady Christiansen, BYU 

OL: Alaric Jackson, Iowa 

C: Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma 

OL Kenyon Green, Texas A&M 

OL: Trey Smith, Tennessee 


DL: Jonathon Cooper, Ohio State 

DL: Patrick Jones II, Pittsburgh 

DL: Joseph Ossai, Texas 

DL: Jordan Davis, Georgia 

LB Grant Morgan, Arkansas 

LB Nick Bolton, Missouri 

LB Paddy Fisher, Northwestern 

DB Trevon Moehrig, TCU 

DB Kyle Hamilton, Notre Dame 

DB Nolan Turner, Clemson 

DB Ahmad Gardner, Cincinnati 

Special Teams 

K Anders Carlson, Auburn 

P Jake Camarda, Georgia 

AP Trestan Ebner, Baylor

**Want to win a $25 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!**  


Most Popular

To Top