Big 12 News

Longhorns Freshman Greg Brown in Karl Malone Top 10

NCAA Basketball: Texas Tech at Texas

Texas forward Greg Brown is among the Top 10 candidates for the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Thursday.

The Karl Malone Award is given to the nation’s best power forward. Other Big 12 players made the Top 10 for the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year and the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award award earlier this week.

Brown leads the Longhorns with eight rebounds per game, which is third in the Big 12. He also leads the Longhorns in blocked shots with 17, which comes to 1.31 blocked shots per game this season.

He is the fourth-leading scorer for Texas with 11.9 points per game in just 22.3 minutes per game.


READ MORE: Big 12-SEC Challenge: Ranking Games From 1 to 10

READ MORE: Nick Weiler-Babb Posts Career-High For Bayern Munich

The Longhorns will face Kentucky in the Big 12-SEC Challenge on Saturday.

In late February, five finalists will be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be presented April 9.

For more information on the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting will go live on Friday, January 29 on

2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Top 10

Aamir Simms, Clemson

Matthew Hurt, Duke

Drew Timme, Gonzaga

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana

Trendon Watford, LSU

Tre Mitchell, Massachusetts

Sandro Mamukelashvili, Seton Hall

Oscar da Silva, Stanford

Greg Brown, Texas

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, Villanova

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 


Most Popular

To Top