Big 12 News

Derek Culver Selected to Abdul-Jabbar Award Top 10

NCAA Basketball: Texas at West Virginia

West Virginia forward Derek Culver is among the Top 10 candidates for the 2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Power Center of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Friday.

The Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award is given to the nation’s best center. Other Big 12 players made the Top 10 for the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year, the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award and the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award earlier this week.

Culver is the Mountaineers’ second-leading scorer, averaging 13.1 points per game, while pulling down 10.2 points per game.


READ MORE: Big 12-SEC Challenge: Ranking Games From 1 to 10

READ MORE: Nick Weiler-Babb Posts Career-High For Bayern Munich

The Mountaineers will face Florida in the Big 12-SEC Challenge on Saturday.

In late February, five finalists will be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award will be presented April 9.

For more information on the 2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #AbdulJabbarAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting will go live on Friday, January 29 on

2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Top 10

Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

Luka Garza, Iowa

Hunter Dickinson, Michigan

Liam Robbins, Minnesota

Nate Watson, Providence

Trevion Williams, Purdue

Evan Mobley, USC

Neemias Queta, Utah State

Derek Culver, West Virginia

Charles Bassey, Western Kentucky

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

To Top