Big 12 News

OSU’s Eddie Sutton To Enter Hall of Fame on Saturday

Eddie Sutton, the former Oklahoma State head basketball coach, will take his place in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame during ceremonies this weekend in Springfield, Mass.

The enshrinement ceremony is set for Saturday, May 15, starting at 4:30 p.m. central time and will be televised. Sutton, who passed away shortly after the announcement of his election to the Hall, will be presented by three Hall of Famers — Kentucky head coach John Calipari, Kansas head coach Bill Self, and NBA legend Sidney Moncrief.

Self played at Oklahoma State, and was later an assistant coach under Sutton at OSU. Moncrief played under Sutton during the legend’s time at Arkansas.


Sutton’s head-coaching career included five Division I stops, 806 victories, and three NCAA Final Four appearances, the last of which came at OSU in 2004. He is No. 9 in all-time wins among Division I head coaches.

Like Self, Sutton played at Oklahoma State, under the legendary Henry Iba (who is also in the Hall of Fame) from 1955-58. After wrapping up his playing career, he embarked on a long road back to leading his alma mater. He assisted Iba for one season at OSU, took a head-coaching job at Tulsa Central High School for seven seasons, and then led College of Idaho for three seasons after Tulsa Central before earning his first Division I-coaching job at Creighton in 1969.

READ MORE: Big 12 Basketball Transfer Tracker

READ MORE: Big 12 Basketball Recruiting Tracker

In five seasons at Creighton, Sutton built up his resume, culminating in a 23-win season in 1973-74, including an NCAA Tournament berth. Arkansas took notice and hired him to rebuild the Razorbacks. He spent 11 seasons with Arkansas, winning five Southwest Conference titles and reaching the NCAA Tournament in each of his final nine seasons. He took Arkansas to the 1978 Final Four, and after the 1984-85 season Kentucky stole Sutton away from Fayetteville.

Sutton’s stint replacing Joe B. Hall at Kentucky was short. He spent four seasons with the Wildcats, and despite three NCAA Tournament appearances, Sutton resigned after a scandal-marred 13-19 season in 1988-89, one that led to Kentucky receiving a three-year penalty that included a two-year postseason ban.

A season later, Sutton landed at OSU, replacing Leonard Hamilton. In 16 seasons at his alma mater, Sutton won 368 games, won three conference tournament championships, made 13 NCAA Tournament appearances, and reached two Final Fours — in 1995 and 2004. Neither led Sutton to that elusive national title. He resigned after the 2005-06 season, one that saw him arrested for a DUI and admitting to an alcohol problem, for which he sought treatment.

He returned from OSU after the 2005-06 season and did a short stint as the interim head coach at San Francisco in 2007-08 before calling it quits for good.

Sutton is among nine inductees who were elected in 2020 but had to wait a year in order to have their formal induction ceremony due to COVID-19. One of the other inductee is a now-former Big 12 coach in Kim Mulkey, who led Baylor’s women’s basketball team to three national championships but left the university last month for LSU.

The Class of 2020 also includes: 18-time NBA All-Star and five-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant, 15-time NBA All-Star and three-time NBA Finals MVP Tim Duncan, 15-time NBA All-Star and nine-time NBA All-Defensive First Team selection Kevin Garnett, two-time NBA Champion coach Rudy Tomjanovich, 10-time WNBA All-Star and four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings, five-time Division II National Coach of the Year Barbara Stevens and longtime FIBA executive Patrick Baumann.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 


Most Popular

To Top