Big 12 News

Big 12 Alumni To Take Part in ‘The Basketball Tournament’

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at West Virginia

Several Big 12 alumni are part of teams that will participate in The Basketball Tournament, ESPN’s summer basketball event set to start next month across the country.

The single-elimination tournament, modeled after the NCAA Tournament, is from July 16-Aug. 3, with one bracket taking place in Morgantown, West Virginia. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will be played in Dayton, Ohio. The winner of the tournament receives $1 million.

West Virginia has a team in the West Virginia bracket, which will be held from July 17-21 at Charleston Coliseum. The team, called Best Virginia, is a No. 2 seed and features former Mountaineers players Kevin Jones, Tarik Phillip, Jaysean Paige and Sagaba Konate.


READ MORE: Big 12 Basketball Transfer Tracker

READ MORE: Big 12 NBA Draft Tracker

The Big 12 is heavy with teams in one particular region, the Wichita Regional, which will be played July 16-20 at Charles Koch Arena.

Kansas State is the No. 7 seed in that regional, as the Purple and Black team will feature former Wildcats like Kamau Stokes, Cartier Diarra and Thomas Gipson.

Oklahoma State has an alumni team called the Stillwater Stars. They’re a No. 9 seed and they’ll feature Markel Brown and Jeffrey Carroll.

The Fort Worth Funk, a No. 11 seed, features former TCU players of recent vintage such Alex Robinson and Vladimir Brodziansky both of whom played on the Horned Frogs’ 2017 NIT Championship team.

The Illinois Bracket, scheduled from July 24-28 at the Peoria Civic Center, features a team called HEARTFIRE as a No. 11 seed. It features at least two former Baylor Bears in Cory Jefferson and King McClure.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 


Most Popular

To Top