Big 12 News

Breece Hall Leads Big 12 Players on Maxwell Award Watch List

NCAA Football: UL Lafayette at Iowa State

Ten Big 12 players were named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the outstanding player in college football, the Maxwell Football Club Announced on Monday.

The Big 12 was led by Iowa State, Kansas State, West Virginia and Oklahoma, who each had two players on the list, while TCU and Texas Tech each had one player make the list.

Iowa State RB Breece Hall and Oklahoma QB Spencer Rattler are likely the two favorites from the Big 12 to win the award. Breece Hall led the nation in rushing yards during the 2020 college football season and Rattler is already the heavy favorite to win the 2021 Heisman Trophy. Last year’s winner was Alabama WR DeVonta Smith, while the last Big 12 player to win the award was former Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield. In fact, he’s the only Big 12 player to win the award since former Texas QB Colt McCoy in 2009.


Big 12 Players Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Brock Purdy, Iowa State QB
Breece Hall, Iowa State RB
Skylar Thompson, Kansas State QB
Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State RB
Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma QB
Marvin Mims, Oklahoma WR
Max Duggan, TCU QB
Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech WR
Jarret Doege, West Virginia QB
Leddie Brown, West Virginia RB


Most Popular

To Top