Big 12 News

Iowa State’s Breece Hall Leads Big 12 on Doak Walker Watch List

NCAA Football: Iowa State at Texas Christian

West Virginia’s Leddie Brown and Iowa State’s Breece Hall are among the Big 12 running backs on the 2021 Doak Walker Award Watch List, the award given to the nation’s best running back.

The award is named for former SMU running back Doak Walker.

Hall was the first unanimous All-American in Iowa State history after leading the Big 12 in rushing with 1,572 yards and 23 touchdowns. He was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and was the runner-up for the Doak Walker Award. He also finished sixth in Heisman Trophy balloting.


Brown, as a sophomore, made just three starts last year, but played in all 10 West Virginia games. He rusned for 367 yards, which led the team. But Brown is expected to take on a much larger role in the offense in 2021.

Texas back Bijan Robinson is also on the watch list and is getting buzz surrounding a candidacy for the Heisman, as well.

Other Big 12 running backs to make the list include Oklahoma’s Kennedy Brooks, Oklahoma State’s LD Brown, TCU’s Zach Evans, Oklahoma’s Eric Gray, Texas Tech’s SaRodorick Thompson and Kansas State’s Deuce Vaughn.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

2021 Doak Walker Award Watch List

Big 12 Players in Bold

Tyler Allgeier (So.), BYU

Christian Beal-Smith (Jr.), Wake Forest

Ulysses Bentley, IV (So.), SMU

Jalen Berger (Fr.), Wisconsin

Tank Bigsby (So.), Auburn

Darius Boone (Fr.), Eastern Michigan

Max Borghi (Sr.), Washington State

Kennedy Brooks (Jr.), Oklahoma

Shamari Brooks (Sr.), Tulsa

Jarek Broussard (So.), Colorado

Chase Brown (So.), Illinois

LD Brown (Sr.), Oklahoma State

Leddie Brown (Sr.), West Virginia

Noah Cain (Jr.), Penn State

Mulbah Car (Sr.), Houston

Stephen Carr (Sr.), Indiana

Cameron Carroll (So.), Tulane

Ty Chandler (Sr.), North Carolina

Destin Coates (Jr.), Georgia State

James Cook (Sr.), Georgia

Jashaun Corbin (So.), Florida State

ReMahn Davis (Jr.), Vanderbilt

Lyn-J Dixon (Sr.), Clemson

Mataeo Durant (Sr.), Duke

Jerrion Ealy (Jr.), Ole Miss

Zach Evans (So.), TCU

Tayon Fleet-Davis (Sr.), Maryland

Alex Fontenot (Jr.), Colorado

Jahmyr Gibbs (Fr.), Georgia Tech

Tyler Goodson (Jr.), Iowa

Frank Gore, Jr. (So.), Southern Miss

Eric Gray (Jr.), Oklahoma

Breece Hall (Jr.), Iowa State

Kevin Harris (Jr.), South Carolina

Rahjai Harris (So.), East Carolina

George Holani (So.), Boise State

Mohamed Ibrahim (Sr.), Minnesota

Keaontay Ingram (Sr.), USC

Dillon Johnson (So.), Mississippi State

Austin Jones (Jr.), Stanford

JD King (Sr.), Georgia Southern

Zonovan Knight (Jr.), NC State

Bryant Koback (Jr.), Toledo

Keyvone Lee (So.), Penn State

Kobe Lewis (Jr.), Central Michigan

John Lovett (Sr.), Penn State

Vavae Malepeai (Sr.), USC

Joquavious Marks (So.), Mississippi State

Kevin Marks (Sr.), Buffalo

Jordan Mason (Jr.), Georgia Tech

DeWayne McBride (So.), UAB

Sincere McCormick (Jr.), UTSA

Sean McGew (Sr.), Washington

Jalen Mitchell (Fr.), Louisville

Marcel Murray (Jr.), Arkansas State

Lew Nichols (Fr.), Central Michigan

Camerun Peoples (Jr.), Appalachian State

Cam Porter (So.), Northwestern

D’Vonte Price (Sr.), FIU

Deneric Prince (Jr.), Tulsa

Ronnie Rivers (Sr.), Fresno State

Bijan Robinson (So.), Texas

Brian Robinson, Jr. (Sr.), Alabama

Chris Rodriguez, Jr. (Jr.), Kentucky

Jabari Small (So.), Tennessee

Chris Smith (So.), Louisiana

Trelon Smith (Jr.), Arkansas

Isaiah Spiller (Jr.), Texas A&M

Brock Sturges (Jr.), Texas State

SaRodorick Thompson (Jr.), Texas Tech

Lawrance Toafili (Fr.), Florida State

DeaMonte Trayanum (Fr.), Arizona State

Sean Tucker (So.), Syracuse

Calvin Turner, Jr. (Sr.), Hawaii

Xazavian Valladay (Jr.), Wyoming

Deuce Vaughn (So.), Kansas State

Kimani Vidal (Fr.), Troy

Kenneth Walker, III (Jr.), Michigan State

Harrison Waylee (Fr.), Northern Illinois

Rachaad White (Jr.), Arizona State

Zamir White (Jr.), Georgia

Michael Wiley (Jr.), Arizona

Kyren Williams (So.), Notre Dame

Logan Wright (Sr.), Georgia Southern

To Top