Big 12 News

TCU’s Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson named to Thorpe Watch List

tcu horned frogs football helmet

TCU’s Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson was one of three Big 12 players named to the 2021 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List on Monday.

The watch list revealed the defensive backs that are initial candidates for the award given to the best defensive back in college football. It is named for Jim Thorpe, the legendary athlete some consider to be the best athlete of the 20th century.

Hodges-Tomlinson was selected to the All-Big 12 First Team in 2020. He also pulled Second-Team All-America honors from the Associated Press and First-Team All-America honors from Pro Football Focus. His 13 pass breakups led the Big 12 and were second nationally.


READ MORE: Top Five Most Important Big 12 Conference Football Games in 2021

READ MORE: 2021 Preseason Big 12 Football Odds Released

The other two Big 12 players were Greg Eisworth II of Iowa State and Kolby Harvell-Peel of Oklahoma State.

Eisworth II was named First Team All-Big 12 for third-straight season in 2020, after starting 12 games and finishing with 47 tackles (1 1/2 tackles for loss) four pass breakups, one interception and a fumble recovery.

Harvell-Peel was a Second-Team All-Big 12 selection last year who had 44 tackles (31 solo).

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

2021 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

(Big 12 Players in Bold)  

Tycen Anderson, Toledo, Sr.

Sevyn Banks, Ohio State, Sr.

Jordan Battle, Alabama, Jr.

Bubba Bolden, Miami (FL), Jr.

Andrew Booth, Jr., Clemson, Jr.

Jaquan Brisker, Penn State, Sr.

Coby Bryant, Cincinnati, Sr.

Derrick Canteen, Georgia Southern, So.

Jalen Catalon, Arkansas, So.

Kei’Trel Clark, Louisville, So.

Bryce Cosby, Ball State, Sr.

Cortez Davis, Hawaii, Sr.

Greg Eisworth II, Iowa State, Sr.

Kaiir Elam, Florida, Jr.

Ahmad Gardner, Cincinnati, Jr.

Steven Gilmore, Marshall, Jr.

Kyle Hamilton, Notre Dame, Jr.

Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, Jr.

Josh Jobe, Alabama, Sr.

Quindell Johnson, Memphis, So.

Shaun Jolly, Appalachian State, Sr.

Marcus Jones, Houston, Jr.

Brandon Joseph, Northwestern, So.

Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State, Sr.

Chase Lucas, Arizona State, Sr.

Trent McDuffie, Washington, Jr.

Smoke Monday, Auburn, Sr.

Tiawan Mullen, Indiana, So.

Jerrick Reed II, New Mexico, Sr.

Eli Ricks, LSU, So.

Berdale Robins, Nevada, Sr.

Chris Steele, USC, Jr.

Derek Stingley, Jr., LSU, Jr.

D’Jordan Strong, Coastal Carolina, Sr.

Nolan Turner, Clemson, Sr.

BeeJay Williamson, Louisiana Tech, So.

Rashad Wisdom, UTSA, Jr.

Samuel Womack, Toledo, Sr.

Mykael Wright, Oregon, So.

To Top