Big 12 News

Oklahoma’s Gabe Brkic Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Big 12 Championship-Baylor vs Oklahoma

Oklahoma kicker Gabe Brkic was one of three Big 12 kickers named to the 2021 Lou Groza Award Watch List on Wednesday.

Brkic has been a Groza semifinalist in both 2019 and 2020. Last season, Brkic had 20 field goals, tied for the most among returning kickers in 2021. In 2020 Brcik was perfect — 17-fot-17 on field goals and 52-for-52 on extra points.

The other two Big 12 kickers on the watch list were Texas kicker Cameron Dicker and Oklahoma State kicker Alex Hale.


The Groza Award is given each year to the nation’s best placekicker.

READ MORE: Top Five Most Important Big 12 Conference Football Games in 2021

READ MORE: 2021 Preseason Big 12 Football Odds Released

Dicker needs just 61 points to become the Longhorns’ all-time leading scorer among kicker, and he’s already third in program history. He is fourth among active kickers with 19 field goals of 40 yards or more.

Hale, like Brkic was a 2020 Groza semifinalist, even though he missed five games due to injury. Before he was hurt, Hale was averaging 2.17 field goals per game, which was best in the country. He still led OSU in scoring, despite only playing six games.  

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

2021 Groza Award Watch List

(Big 12 Players in Bold)  

Jacob Barnes, Louisiana Tech

Massimo Biscardi, Coastal Carolina

Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma

Charles Campbell, Indiana

Anders Carlson, Auburn

Jace Christmann, Florida

Connor Culp, Nebraska

Cameron Dicker, Texas

Christopher Dunn, NC State

Hunter Duplessis, UTSA

Alex Hale, Oklahoma State

Charlie Ham, Duke

John Hoyland, Wyoming

Blake Mazza, SMU

Chase McGrath, Tennessee

Marshall Meeder, Central Michigan

Harrison Mevis, Missouri

Brayden Narveson, Western Kentucky

Jake Oldroyd, BYU

Jack Podlesny, Georgia

B.T. Potter, Clemson

Matt Quinn, UAB

Jadon Redding, Utah

Will Reichard, Alabama

Matt Ruffolo, Kentucky

Nick Sciba, Wake Forest

Andre Szmyt, Syracuse

Brandon Talton, Nevada

James Turner, Louisville

Cade York, LSU

To Top