Big 12 News

D’Shawn Jamison leads Big 12 on Paul Hornung Watch List

NCAA Football: Texas at West Virginia

Texas special teams ace D’Shawn Jamison leads several Big 12 players selected to the 2021 Paul Hornung Award Watch List, which was released on Thursday.

Jamison was the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year in 2020, and also earned All-Big 12 honorable mention as a kick/punt returner. He played in all 10 games, serving as the Longhorns’ primary punt and kick returner. He 17 kicks for 564 yards and one touchdown, set a UT single season record with a 31.7 yards-per-return average on kickoff, and his 564 kickoff return yards rank as the third-most in a season in school history. As a defensive back, he also had 31 tackles and broke up six passes.

The Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission in the memory of the late football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.


READ MORE: Top Five Most Important Big 12 Conference Football Games in 2021

READ MORE: 2021 Preseason Big 12 Football Odds Released

The other Big 12 players named to the Watch List were Phillip Brooks of Kansas State, Derius Davis of TCU, Tresten Ebner of Baylor, Kenny Logan Jr. of Kansas, Marvin Mims of Oklahoma, Myles Price of Texas Tech and Winston Wright Jr. of West Virginia.

There are two more college football award watch lists to be released this week. The Wuerrfel Award is released on Thursday, while the Walter Camp Award is released on Friday.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

2021 Hornung Award Watch List

(Big 12 Players in Bold)  

Jacob Adams, Louisiana Tech

Tyler Allgeier, BYU

Tyler Badie, Missouri

Jake Bailey, Rice

Tank Bigsby, Auburn

Phillip Brooks, Kansas State

Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB

Jordan Byrd, San Diego State

Tyleek Collins, UNLV

Britain Covey, Utah

Aron Cruickshank, Rutgers

Derius Davis, TCU

Nathaniel Dell, Houston

Jahan Dotson, Penn State

Romeo Doubs, Nevada

Demario Douglas, Liberty

Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

Tresten Ebner, Baylor

Jahmyr Gibbs, Georgia Tech

Danny Gray, Southern Methodist

Donavon Greene, Wake Forest

Justin Hall, Ball State

Travell Harris, Washington State

Connor Heyward, MSU

Khaleb Hood, Georgia Southern

Jha’Quan Jackson, Tulane

D’Shawn Jamison, Texas

Cam Johnson, Vandy

Jeshaun Jones, Maryland

Velus Jones Jr., Tennessee

Zonovan Knight, NC State

Jaylan Knighton, Miami

Kenny Logan Jr., Kansas

DJ Matthews, Indiana

Marvin Mims, Oklahoma

Kyle Phillips, UCLA

Kalil Pimpleton, Central Michigan

Myles Price, Texas Tech

Clint Ratkovich, Northern Illinois

Jayden Reed, Michigan State

Nikko Remigio, Cal

Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State

Stephon Robinson Jr., Northwestern

Tyrell Robinson, Army

Wandale Robinson, Kentucky

Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

Chris Smith, Louisiana Tech

Tyler Snead, East Carolina

Caleb Spurlin, Appalachian State

Derek Stingley Jr., LSU

Keylon Stokes, Tulsa

Deandre Torrey, North Texas

Calvin Turner Jr., Hawaii

Kyren Williams, Notre Dame

Garret Wilson, Ohio State

Mykael Wright, Oregon

Winston Wright Jr., West Virginia


Most Popular

To Top