Big 12 Basketball

Remy Martin is Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Texas Tech

Remy Martin is the Big 12 men’s basketball Preseason Player of the Year, according to a vote of the conference’s coaches in advance of Big 12 Media Day next week.

Also among the superlatives were Texas guard Marcus Carr, who was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year, and Baylor freshman Kendall Brown, who was named the league’s Freshman of the Year.

Martin, an Arizona State transfer who was a three-time All-Pac 12 selection, joins the Kansas Jayhawks to help them fill out a lineup that has four returning starters. Last season he led the Pac-12 averaging 19.1 points per game, including 21.5 points per game in Pac-12 games.


Carr is also a transfer, as he joins the Longhorns after a productive career at Minnesota. The two-time All-Big Ten selection was third in the Big Ten in scoring last season with 19.4 points per game and also averaged 4.9 assists per game. He had a career-high 41 points against Nebraska last season.

Brown is one of two highly-rated recruits in Baylor’s 2021 class, along with Langston Love. Brown is a five-star player and was No. 3 in’s composite recruiting rankings. He spent the summer with the 2021 USA Nike Hoop Summit Team and in the 2021 USA Basketball Men’s U19 World Cup team training camp.

Six players made the preseason first team — Martin, Carr, Baylor forward Matthew Mayer, Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji, Kansas forward David McCormack and Texas Tech guard/forward Terrence Shannon Jr.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

Preseason Big 12 Men’s Basketball Awards

Preseason Player of the Year

Remy Martin, Kansas, G

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Marcus Carr, Texas, G

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Kendall Brown, Baylor, G/F

Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Matthew Mayer, Baylor, G/F

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas, G

Remy Martin, Kansas, G

David McCormack, Kansas, F

Marcus Carr, Texas, G

Terrence Shannon, Jr., Texas Tech, G

A tie resulted in an extra position on the team.

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school):

James Akinjo (Baylor), Avery Anderson III (Oklahoma State), Moussa Cisse (Oklahoma State), Mike Miles (TCU), Andrew Jones (Texas), Tre Mitchell (Texas), Taz Sherman (West Virginia).

To Top