Big 12 Basketball

Ochai Agbaji Leads Four Big 12 Guards on Jerry West Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Kansas

Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji was one of four Big 12 players selected to  the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award watch list on Tuesday.

The other Big 12 players selected to the watch list were Baylor’s Adam Flagler, Texas’ Andrew Jones and Texas Tech’s Terrence Shannon Jr.

Agbaji is one of four returning starters for the Jayhawks this season. He was All-Big 12 Honorable Mention last season after averaging 14.1 points per game and leading the Big 12 in 3-point field goals made per game (2.6).


Flagler averaged 9.1 points and 2.3 rebounds coming off the bench for the defending national champion Bears. He was Baylor’s best 3-point shooter (43.4 percent) and an 87 percent foul shooter. Flagler was the 2019 Big South Freshman of the Year award at Presbyterian after he averaged 15.9 points per game.

Jones is in his sixth season with Texas and was an All-Big 12 Second Team pick a year ago. He led the Longhorns in scoring with 14.6 points per game, along with averaging 2.3 assists and 4.5 rebounds per game.

Shannon flirted with the NBA before deciding to return to the Red Raiders for a third season. Shannon averaged 12.9 points, 4.0 rebounds, 1.4 assists and 1.1 steals per game last season as he earned All-Big 12 Third Team honors. He was also a Julius Erving Award Finalist.  

Agbaji and Shannon were named to the Preseason All-Big 12 Team. Jones was named a preseason honorable mention.

The West Shooting Point Guard of the Year Award is named after the former West Virginia and Los Angeles Lakers legend. The award recognizes the top shooting guard in Division I men’s college basketball.

Heartland College Sports Big 12 Basketball Preview

Roster Analysis: Baylor | Iowa State | Kansas | Kansas State | Oklahoma | Oklahoma State | TCU | Texas | Texas Tech | West Virginia

Impact Players: Freshmen | Transfers | Breakthrough Players

Top 25 Returning Players: No. 25 Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua| No. 24 Christian Braun | No. 23 Rondel Walker | No. 22 Umoja Gibson | No. 21 Matthew Alexander-Moncrieffe | No. 20 Nijel Pack | No. 19: Marcus Santos-Silva | No. 18 Mike McGuirl| No. 17 Jalen Bridges | No. 16 Kalib Boone | No. 15 Kevin McCullar | No. 14 Isaac Likekele | No. 13 Adam Flagler | No. 12 Jalen Coleman-Lands

Coaching: Hiring Grades | Coaches by Category

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!**

2022 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Jaden Shackelford, Alabama

Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona

Adam Flagler, Baylor

Hunter Sallis, Gonzaga

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

Kellan Grady, Kentucky

Taevion Kinsey, Marshall

Eric Ayala, Maryland

Landers Nolley, Memphis

Isaiah Wong, Miami

Eli Brooks, Michigan

De’Vion Harmon, Oregon

Jaden Ivey, Purdue

Matt Bradley, San Diego St.

Jared Rhoden, Seton Hall

Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse

Andrew Jones, Texas

Terrence Shannon Jr., Texas Tech

Johnny Juzang, UCLA

Justin Moore, Villanova

To Top