Big 12 Basketball

Jalen Wilson Leads Five Big 12 Forwards on Julius Erving Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: State Farm Champions Classic-Kansas at Kentucky

Kansas forward Jalen Wilson was one of five Big 12 players selected to  the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award watch list on Wednesday.

The other Big 12 players selected to the watch list were Baylor’s Matthew Mayer, Baylor’s Kendall Brown, Texas’ Timmy Allen and Texas Tech’s Kevin Obanor.

Wilson is one of four returning starters for the Jayhawks this season. He earned both All-Big 12 Newcomer and Freshman team honors while averaging 11.8 points and 7.9 rebounds per game.


Mayer played as the primary backup at forward last season for Baylor, which won the national championship. Mayer is expected to start this season.

Brown is one of the highest-ranked recruits in the Big 12 and the Bears expect him to make an immediate impact, either as a starter or as a primary reserve.

Allen is in his first year at Texas and is coming off an All-Pac-12 season at Utah.

Obanor led Oral Roberts to the Sweet 16 last season before transferring to Texas Tech and joining the Red Raiders.

The Erving Small Forward of the Year Award is named after the former NBA Hall of Famer. The award recognizes the top small forward in Division I men’s college basketball.

Heartland College Sports Big 12 Basketball Preview

Roster Analysis: Baylor | Iowa State | Kansas | Kansas State | Oklahoma | Oklahoma State | TCU | Texas | Texas Tech | West Virginia

Impact Players: Freshmen | Transfers | Breakthrough Players

Top 25 Returning Players: No. 25 Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua| No. 24 Christian Braun | No. 23 Rondel Walker | No. 22 Umoja Gibson | No. 21 Matthew Alexander-Moncrieffe | No. 20 Nijel Pack | No. 19: Marcus Santos-Silva | No. 18 Mike McGuirl| No. 17 Jalen Bridges | No. 16 Kalib Boone | No. 15 Kevin McCullar | No. 14 Isaac Likekele | No. 13 Adam Flagler | No. 12 Jalen Coleman-Lands

Coaching: Hiring Grades | Coaches by Category

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!**

2022 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Marcus Bagley, Arizona St.

Matthew Mayer, Baylor

Kendall Brown, Baylor

Jabari Walker, Colorado

Hyunjung Lee, Davidson

AJ Griffin, Duke

Matthew Cleveland, Florida State

Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Lucas Williamson, Loyola-Chicago

Emoni Bates, Memphis

Caleb Houstan, Michigan

Justice Sueing, Ohio State

Ron Harper Jr., Rutgers

Julian Champagnie, St. John’s

Harrison Ingram, Stanford

Timmy Allen, Texas

Kevin Obanor, Texas Tech

Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA

Patrick Baldwin Jr., UW-Milwaukee

Jermaine Samuels, Villanova

To Top