Big 12 Basketball

David McCormack Leads Two Big 12 Players on Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Baylor at Kansas

Kansas forward/center David McCormack is one of two Big 12 players selected to  the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award watch list released on Friday.

McCormack was named the Most Improved Player in the Big 12 last season, along with All-Big 12 Second Team. He set a career-high in scoring, averaging 13.4 points per game, along with grabbing 6.1 rebounds per game.

The other Big 12 player to make the list was Oklahoma State’s Moussa Cisse, who transferred from Memphis to the Cowboys.


As a true freshman last season, Cisse helped the Tigers to a National Invitational Tournament (NIT) title. He averaged  6.3 rebounds and 1.64 blocks per game, which ranked seventh and second in the American Athletic Conference, respectively.

The Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award is named after the Hall of Fame center, who went to college at UCLA and is the NBA’s all-time leader in scoring. The award recognizes the top center in Division I men’s college basketball.

Heartland College Sports Big 12 Basketball Preview

Roster Analysis: Baylor | Iowa State | Kansas | Kansas State | Oklahoma | Oklahoma State | TCU | Texas | Texas Tech | West Virginia

Impact Players: Freshmen | Transfers | Breakthrough Players

Top 25 Returning Players: No. 25 Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua| No. 24 Christian Braun | No. 23 Rondel Walker | No. 22 Umoja Gibson | No. 21 Matthew Alexander-Moncrieffe | No. 20 Nijel Pack | No. 19: Marcus Santos-Silva | No. 18 Mike McGuirl| No. 17 Jalen Bridges | No. 16 Kalib Boone | No. 15 Kevin McCullar | No. 14 Isaac Likekele | No. 13 Adam Flagler | No. 12 Jalen Coleman-Lands | No. 11 Sean McNeil | No. 10 Taz Sherman | No. 9 Matthew Mayer | No. 8 Jalen Wilson

Coaching: Hiring Grades | Coaches by Category

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!**

2022 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Walker Kessler, Auburn

Nick Muszynski, Belmont

Mark Williams, Duke

Colin Castleton, Florida

Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga

Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

David McCormack, Kansas

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Ahsan Asadullah, Lipscomb

Qudus Wahab, Maryland

Jalen Duren, Memphis

Hunter Dickinson, Michigan

Armando Bacot, North Carolina

Moussa Cisse, Oklahoma State

Nate Watson, Providence

Zach Edey, Purdue

Osun Osunniyi, St. Bonaventure

Myles Johnson, UCLA

Fardaws Aimaq, Utah Valley

Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt

To Top