Big 12 Basketball

Ashley Joens leads Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

NCAA Womens Basketball: Big 12 Conference Tournament-Texas vs Iowa State

Iowa State forward Ashley Joens is one of three Big 12 players selected to the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award watch list released on Wednesday.

Oklahoma’s Madi Williams and Texas Tech’s Vivian Gray also made the list.

Joens, a second-team All-American last season, is also the defending Miller Award winner. Last season she also earned All-Big 12 First-Team honors after averaging a school-record 24.2 points per game. She also averaged 9.5 rebounds per game and shot a career-best 46.3 percent from the field. She led the Big 12 in scoring for the second straight season.


Williams was an All-Big 12 First-Team selection a season ago after averaging 20 points per game for the Sooners. She also averaged 5.1 rebounds per game and shot nearly 50 percent from the floor. She was the third-leading scorer in the Big 12 last season.

Gray was a Miller Award Top 10 finalist last season and First-Team All-Big 12. She also earned WBCA Coaches all-America Honorable Mention honors after averaging 19.8 points on 43.8 percent field goal shooting, 8.2 rebounds, 2.9 assists, 1.6 blocks and 1.4 steals per game.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!**

2022 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Sam Thomas Arizona

Taylor Soule, Boston College

Jasmine Dickey, Delaware

Elizabeth Balogun, Duke

Grace Berger, Indiana

Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Emily Engstler, Louisville

Chloe Bibby, Maryland

Rickea Jackson, Mississippi St.

Alyssa Utsby, North Carolina

Erica Johnson, Ohio

Madi Williams, Oklahoma

Andra Espinoza-Hunter, Seton Hall

Myah Selland, South Dakota State

Haley Jones, Stanford

Mia Davis, Temple

Rae Burrell, Tennessee

Kayla Wells, Texas A&M

Vivian Gray, Texas Tech

To Top