Big 12 Sports Articles

BYU Joining the Big 12 Conference Won’t Be Just About Football Success

NCAA Football: Brigham Young at Utah State

It’s no secret the success that BYU is having in football this year. In recent years, BYU men’s basketball has won 20 games or more in 14 of the past 15 seasons. The Big 12 Conference is bringing in a program that has achieved success in the two sports that create the most revenue.

There’s more to BYU athletics than just football and men’s basketball though. BYU has swept every championship in the West Coast Conference thus far. In fact, BYU has won the West Coast Conference Commissioner’s Cup every year since 2012-13. Not only has it won the overall Commissioner’s Cup, but the women’s programs have placed first in the standings every year too. The men’s programs have taken first place in four of the past five years, including the previous two (which does not include 2019-20 due to the COVID-19 pandemic). The dominance is continuing this year.

 

The No.12 BYU women’s soccer team won a share of the West Coast Conference Championship Saturday with a double-overtime victory over the Pepperdine Waves. Cameron Tucker scored a golden goal in the 104th minute to lift the Cougars to claim the title. The golden goal came after a yellow card provided a free kick. Brecken Mozingo sent the free kick in to the box where the Waves’ goalkeeper deflected it for Tucker’s opportunity. It is the program’s eighth West Coast Conference Championship in the 11 years BYU has placed membership with the conference.

The Cougars await their NCAA Tournament matchup 3:30 p.m. CT/2:30 p.m. MT Monday. BYU has advanced to the quarterfinals four times in the program’s history.

BYU also has an excellent cross-country program. The Provo, Utah school swept the West Coast Conference Cross Country Championships Oct. 29. The men’s side took four of the top five spots including a first place finish by Conner Mantz in a time of 23:01.0. Whittni Orton scored gold on the women’s side, finishing in 20:01.0. Again, BYU took four of the top five spots on the women’s side.

 

Both BYU cross country programs are in the top 10 for the nation. The ladies are No.3 while the men are No.7. BYU will now host the NCAA Mountain Region Championships at Timpanogos Golf Club in Provo Nov. 12. The women’s race will start Noon CT/11 a.m. MT while the men’s race will start at 1 p.m. CT/Noon MT.

When BYU arrives in the Big 12 Conference, it won’t just be about success in the revenue-generating sports, their Olympic sports programs will be a force to be reckoned with as well.

Comments
To Top