Big 12 Basketball

David McCormack Leads Nine Big 12 Players on Naismith Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Baylor at Kansas

David McCormack is one of nine Big 12 players on the Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List, the award given to the nation’s best college basketball player.

The Naismith Trophy committee released the watch list on Monday, the day before the regular season begins.

McCormack, the reigning Big 12 Most Improved Player, is one of three Jayhawks on the list. The other two are returning guard Ochai Agbaji and transfer Remy Martin, who was a three-time All-Pac-12 selection in Arizona State. The trio tips off the season on Tuesday night when Kansas plays Michigan State in the Champions Classic.


Baylor, the defending national champions, also has three players on the watch list. Guard Adam Flagler and forward Matthew Mayer played for the Bears last season, while Akinjo was an All-Pac-12 performer last season for the Arizona Wildcats. He transferred to Baylor in the offseason.

Texas has two players on the list. Holdover guard Andrew Jones, who was All-Big 12 last season, is on the list, along with transfer guard Marcus Carr. Carr was the leading scorer for Minnesota last season and flirted with the NBA before transferring to the Longhorns.

Terrence Shannon Jr. of Texas Tech is the final member of the watch list. Shannon Jr. also declared for the NBA but returned to play for first-year head coach Mark Adams. Shannon won’t play in the Red Raiders’ home opener on Tuesday night as the program works to ensure that Shannon’s NBA declaration didn’t run afoul of NCAA rules.

Former Iowa center Luka Garza was the winner of the Naismith Award last season.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

To Top