Baylor Bears

Four Big 12 Running Backs Named Doak Walker Award Semifinalists

NCAA Football: Texas Christian at Baylor

The Doak Walker Award semifinalists were announced on Wednesday and nearly half of the list is comprised of Big 12 running backs. The award is presented annually to the nation’s best running back.

Iowa State’s Breece Hall, Texas’ Bijan Robinson, Baylor’s Abram Smith, and Kansas State’s Deuce Vaughn all made the short-list of the nation’s best ball carriers. Three of those backs, Hall, Robinson, and Smith, rank among the Top 10 in rushing yards in the country, while Vaughn is Top-10 in the FBS in all-purpose yards.


Here is the complete list of semifinalists for the award:

BYU’s Tyler Allgeier
Missouri’s Tyler Badie
Iowa State’s Breece Hall
Ohio State’s TreVeyon Henderson
UTSA’s Sincere McCormick
Texas’ Bijan Robinson
Baylor’s Abram Smith
Syracuse’s Sean Tucker
Kansas State’s Deuce Vaughn
Michigan State’s Kenneth Walker III.

It would not be surprising to see two Big 12 running backs among the three finalists when they are announced on November 23rd. The winner will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards on December 9th. Kenneth Walker III currently has the third-best odds (+350) to win the Heisman Trophy and is the favorite to take home the award.


Most Popular

To Top