Big 12 News

Big 12 Trio Named to Texas High School Football Hall of Fame

joey mcguire press conference

Colt McCoy, Tony Brackens and Joey McGuire are among the nine slated for induction into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame later this year.

The trio was announced as part of the class earlier this week. They will be recognized on May 7 at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in Waco, Texas, in a private ceremony.

The class consists of one player from each decade of Texas high school football, including a category for players that played before 1960.


McCoy, who is still in the NFL with the Arizona Cardinals, played high school football at Jim Ned High School in Tuscola, Texas, where he was a two-time Associated Press 2A Offensive MVP and First-team All-state selection. He threw for 9,344 yards and 116 touchdowns.

McCoy started for four straight seasons for the Longhorns, leading Texas to the 2009 national championship game against Alabama. He threw for 13,253 yards and 112 touchdowns for his career.

Brackens, from Fairfield, Texas, played for Texas from 1992-95 and was a consensus First-Team All-American in 1995 as he led Texas to the 1995 Southwest Conference title and a victory over Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl. He enjoyed an eight-year NFL career with the Jacksonville Jaguars.

McGuire was named the head coach at Texas Tech last November, after serving as an assistant coach at Baylor. Before McGuire joined the bears, he coached at Cedar Hill High School near Dallas, Texas. Cedar Hill had never won a playoff game when McGuire arrived in 2003. He went 141-42 and led the Longhorns to three state championships.

2022 Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Class

1959 & Before – Dick Stafford – Temple High School

1960s – Ray Rhodes – Mexia High School

1970s – Rodney Allison – Odessa High School

1980s – Shea Walker – Port Arthur Jefferson High School

1990s – Tony Brackens – Fairfield High School

2000s – Colt McCoy – Tuscola Jim Ned High School

Eddie Joseph/THSFHOF Coach – John Parchman – Midland Lee High School

Eddie Joseph/THSFHOF Coach – Joey McGuire – Cedar Hill High School

Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game – Robert Wilcox – Announcer Iowa Park High School

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 


Most Popular

To Top