Big 12 Basketball

Ochai Agbaji Leads Three Big 12 Guards on Jerry West Top 10

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at Michigan State

Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji was one of three Big 12 players selected to  the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Top 10 Watch List on Tuesday.

The other Big 12 players selected to the watch list were Baylor’s Adam Flagler and Iowa State’s Izaiah Brockington.

Agbaji leads the Big 12 and is 12th nationally in scoring at 20.9 points per game. He is second in the league in three-point field goal percentage (46.4, 10th nationally) and in three-point field goals made per game (3.2). Agbaji has scored 20 or more points in 12 games this season, including a career-high 37 points in Kansas double-overtime win against No. 13 Texas Tech on Jan. 24.


Over his last 12 games, Flagler has averaged 15.3 points, 3.9 assists, and 1.4 steals per game while shooting 45 percent from 3-point range. Flagler is fifth in the Big 12 with 44 3-pointers made, and he ranks Top 10 in the conference in assists (70) and assists-to-turnover ratio (1.71), while also ranking 12th in scoring (12.7 per game).

Brockington leads the Cyclones in scoring and rebounding with 16.8 points and 7.8 rebounds, both of which rank among the top three in the Big 12 Conference. He is fourth in the league shooting 48.3 percent from the field, while shooting 40.9 percent from the 3-point line and 80.4 percent from the free-throw line.

The West Shooting Point Guard of the Year Award is named after the former West Virginia and Los Angeles Lakers legend. The award recognizes the top shooting guard in Division I men’s college basketball.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

2022 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Top 10

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona

Adam Flagler, Baylor

Izaiah Brockington, Iowa State

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

TyTy Washington Jr., Kentucky

Jaden Ivey, Purdue

Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse

Johnny Juzang, UCLA

Justin Moore, Villanova

Johnny Davis, Wisconsin

To Top