Big 12 Basketball

Two Big 12 Players on Cheryl Miller Award Late-Season Watch List

Madi Williams of Oklahoma women's basketball - 2

Oklahoma’s Madi Williams and Iowa State’s Ashley Joens are the two Big 12 players on the 2022 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Late-Season Watch list released on Wednesday.

Williams leads the Sooners in points and rebounds per game, scoring 18.6 and grabbing eight, respectively. The Sooners are having their best season in a decade and are tied with Iowa State for the Big 12 lead. Williams was named the Big 12 Player of the Week on Monday, making her the fourth Sooner to win the award this season.


Joens and the No. 9 Iowa State Cyclones are off until Saturday, but she is third in the Big 12 in points per game at 19.4 and has scored 20 or more points in nine games this season. She is 44 away from becoming ISU’s all-time leading scorer. She also averages 9.1 rebounds per game and is 40 rebounds away from becoming the fourth player in Iowa State history to reach 1,000 career rebounds.

Joens is also on the Dawn Staley Award Watch List, given to the nation’s best overall guard.

2022 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award Late-Season Watch List

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Taylor Soule, Boston College

Jasmine Dickey, Delaware

Grace Berger, Indiana

Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Emily Engstler, Louisville

Aijha Blackwell, Missouri

Madi Williams, Oklahoma

Haley Jones, Stanford

Mia Davis, Temple

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

To Top