Baylor Bears

Ochai Agbaji Leads Three Big 12 Players on Naismith Midseason Team

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Kansas

Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji led three Big 12 players on the Naismith Midseason Team, which was released earlier this week.  

The pool of players are now candidates for the Naismith Player of the Year award, which will be announced later this year.  

The other two Big 12 players are Iowa State’s Izaiah Brockington and Baylor’s James Akinjo. 



Agbaji leads the Big 12 in scoring at 20.3 points per game and is a three-time Big 12 Player of the Week. His 3-point shooting percentage of 45.6 percent is sixth nationally, and he averages 3.1 made 3-pointers per game.  

Brockington has never played better in his college career. He is averaging 16.6 points and 7.8 rebounds, and he is the only Big 12 player ranked in the top four of both categories. He is one of three guards from a power conference to record at least seven double doubles this season. 

Akinjo has been named both the Big 12 Player of the Week and the Big 12 Newcome of the Week this season. His season high of 27 points helped the Bears beat Northwestern State and Oklahoma during the season.  



Naismith Trophy 2022 Midseason Team 

Big 12 players in bold 

Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona 

Collin Gillespie, Villanova 

E.J. Liddell, Ohio State 

Jaden Ivey, Purdue 

Johnny Davis, Wisconsin 

Johnny Juzang, UCLA 

Keegan Murray, Iowa 

Kofi Cockburn, Illinois 

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky 

Paolo Banchero, Duke 

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana 

Drew Timme, Gonzaga 

Jabari Smith, Auburn 

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas 

Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga 

James Akinjo, Baylor 

Alondes Williams, Wake Forest 

David Roddy, Colorado State 

Isaiah Mobley, USC 

Max Abmas, Oral Roberts 

Walker Kessler, Auburn 

Justin Lewis, Marquette  

Zach Edey, Purdue 

Armando Bacot, North Carolina  

Kendric Davis, SMU 

Orlando Robinson, Fresno St. 

Tari Eason, LSU 

Wendell Moore Jr., Duke 

Izaiah Brockington, Iowa St. 

Kenneth Lofton Jr., Louisiana Tech 

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard. 

To Top