Big 12 News

Oklahoma State Releases 2022 Spring Football Roster

NCAA Football: Big 12 Football Championship-Baylor vs Oklahoma State

Oklahoma State recently updated its 2022 football roster on its official website with the addition of early enrollees, some number changes, and confirmation over which super seniors are returning for one more year. 

As we face the depressing reality that we won’t get to watch any football for 184 days, these are the tiny victories we get as we reach for any sliver of football content to occupy us until August. Especially if you’re a nerd like me. Today I’ll be going over the rundown of the updated 2022 Oklahoma State spring roster with everything you need to know.


New Additions

The Cowboys added 11 early enrollees and transfers to the roster this spring, as well as eight walk-ons.

  • #0 Ollie Gordon RB
  • #1 Xavier Benson LB*
  • #2 Talyn Shettron WR
  • #8 Dylahn McKinney CB
  • #11 Tabry Shettron CW
  • #13 Garret Rangel QB
  • #15 Rylan McQuarters WR
  • #24 CJ Brown RB
  • #42 Gabe Brown LB
  • #48 Elijah Wright LB
  • #49 Dylan Davis S
  • #50 Solomon Wright DT*
  • #59 Gabriel Reed K
  • #59 Martin Sheared DE
  • #77 Landon Dean DE
  • #77 Tyrone Webber DE^
  • #79 Campbell Ambrose K
  • #84 Xavier Dandridge WR
  • #86 Rashad Dixon WR^

*Incoming Transfer
^JUCO commit

Mike Gundy and his staff lucked out, getting almost all of his top-rated recruits on campus early to get a full off-season of reps and workouts under their belts. Trinity (TX) running back Ollie Gordon is arguably the biggest snag with all of the departures at the position. Jaylen Warren, LD Brown, and Dezmon Jackson all moved on, that’s last year’s RB1, RB2, and RB3 with only junior Dominic Richardson and redshirt freshman Jaden Nixon returning for 2022. 

Edmond Santa Fe wideout Talyn Shettron was the highest-rated commit of Gundy’s 2022 class and joins a stacked wide receiver room. JUCO product Tyrone Webber is being looked at as a plug-and-play guy at offensive tackle, and I’ve heard very good things about cornerback Dylahn McKinney and quarterback Garret Rangel. Beggs (OK) running back CJ Brown also adds more depth to the backfield.


Super Seniors

Eight Cowboys have chosen to utilize the extra year of eligibility due to COVID for one more run in the orange and black.

Edge rusher Brock Martin made his intentions of returning clear after announcing on Twitter after the Cowboys’ Bedlam victory. Defensive tackles Brendon Evers and Sioni Asi also return to a depleted position group after Israel Antwine declared for the draft and Jayden Jernigan transferred to Missouri. 

Receiver Braydon Johnson missed all of except the season opener last season with an undisclosed injury. Now he returns for one more year to an even more competitive wide receiver room. Tanner Brown will return as the placekicker for the Pokes once again after a solid 2021 season that saw him take over from Alex Hale. Veteran long snapper Matt Hembrough also returns.

Number Changes

A couple of Cowboys opted for a number change this spring, with four out of the six total being cornerbacks. Korie Black switches from No. 4 to 2, Jabbar Muhammad ditches No. 6 in favor of 7, Desean Buckner goes from No. 32 to 20 and Cam Smith takes Tre Sterling’s No. 3 after wearing 8 last year.

Silas Barr switches back to his lineman number, No. 54, after experimenting at Cowboy back last season when he switched to No. 48. Finally, Mason Cobb will wear No. 0 rather than 38.

To Top