Big 12 Basketball

Kansas G Ochai Agbaji is Finalist for Jerry West Award

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at Michigan State

Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji was one of five finalists for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award award, which was announced on Tuesday.

Agbaji is the only Big 12 player to make the cut.  Baylor’s Adam Flagler and Iowa State’s Izaiah Brockington were on the Top 10 list released last month.

The other finalists for the award are Bennedict Mathurin of Arizona, Jaden Ivey of Purdue, Johnny Juzang of UCLA and Johnny Davis of Wisconsin.


Going into Tuesday’s game with TCU, Agbaji leads the Big 12 in scoring at 20.4 points per game, which puts him in the top 15 of the country. He is second in the Big 12 and 11th nationally in 3-point field goal percentage (43.3) and has scored 20 or more points in a Big 12-best 16 games. He’s averaged 24.3 points in his last three games.

Kansas is preparing to play three games this week. The Jayhawks will face TCU in Fort on Tuesday, then host the Horned Frogs on Thursday and then wrap up the season on Saturday when they host Texas. The Jayhawks have a half-game lead on Baylor in the Big 12 standings going into the week. Baylor beat Kansas on Saturday, making the Jayhawks’ road to a regular-season crown a bit tougher.

The West Shooting Point Guard of the Year Award is named after the former West Virginia and Los Angeles Lakers legend. The award recognizes the top shooting guard in Division I men’s college basketball.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

2022 Jerry West Award Finalists

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

Jaden Ivey, Purdue

Johnny Juzang, UCLA

Johnny Davis, Wisconsin


Most Popular

To Top