Big 12 Basketball

Ashley Joens, Madi Williams Finalists For Cheryl Miller Award

Madi Williams of Oklahoma women's basketball - 2

Iowa State forward Ashley Joens and Oklahoma forward Madi Williams are two of the five finalists for the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award.

The other three finalists are Rhyne Howard of Kentucky, Haley Jones of Stanford and Emily Engstler of Louisville.

Joens passed Angie Welle earlier this season to become the leading scorer in Iowa State history with 2,261 career points going into the Big 12 Tournament. She’s also No. 4 in ISU history with 1,025 career rebounds.


Joens earned selection to the Heartland College Sports All-Big 12 First Team after she helped the Cyclones to a Top 10 national ranking. She leads the team with 20 points and 9.2 rebounds per game, shot a career-best 37.2 percent from the 3-point line and a career-best 2.2 assists per game. Joens won the Miller award last season.

Williams was also on the Heartland College Sports All-Big 12 First Team. She led the Sooners with 17.7 points and 7.7 rebounds this season. She’s also the only player in the country to average 17.5 points, 7.5 rebounds and 2.5 assists on the year while playing less than 30 minutes a game. The only other players to do that since 2009 are UConn’s Breanna Stewart and Maya Moore. Williams has eight double-doubles this season, which is seventh best in OU history and is one of 14 Sooners with at 1,500 career points (No. 9 all-time).

2022 Cheryl Miller Award Finalists

(Big 12 Players in Bold)

Emily Engstler, Louisville

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Haley Jones, Stanford

Madi Williams, Oklahoma

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.


Most Popular

To Top