Big 12 News

Kansas Guard Ochai Agbaji is Consensus All-American

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at Michigan State

Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji was named a First-Team All-American by the U.S. Basketball Writers’ Association on Thursday, making him a consensus All-American.

Baylor guard James Akinjo make the third team.

Having earned All-America First Team honors by the NABC, AP, The Sporting News and USBWA, Agbaji will be named Consensus All-America First Team. Agbaji is Kansas’ 31st all-time Consensus All-America First Team selection and the first since Devonte’ Graham in 2018.


Agbaji just led the Jayhawks to the Big 12 Tournament championship and the No. 1-seeded Jayhawks will open the NCAA Tournament Thursday night in Fort Worth. He was named the Big 12 Player of the Year by the league’s coaches and by Heartland College Sports.

After the Big 12 Tournament, he is averaging 19.7 points per game, shooting 40.5 percent from the 3-point line and averages nearly three made 3-point field goals per game.

Akinjo, who transferred to Baylor from Arizona last offseason, made the third-team after leading the Bears to a second straight Big 12 regular-season title. He was named First-Team All-Big 12 by the coaches. He is averaging 13.4 points per game and has a team-leading 170 assists.

Despite a loss in the Big 12 quarterfinals, the Baylor Bears are a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will open action on Thursday against Norfolk State. Both Baylor and Kansas are playing their initial NCAA Tournament games at Dickies Arena in Fort Worth. The Bears should have forward Kendall Brown back for Thursday’s game.

Both Baylor and Kansas finished in the Top 5 of the final AP Top 25.

USBWA Men’s All-America Team

First Team

G Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

C Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

G/F Johnny Davis, Wisconsin

F Keegan Murray, Iowa

F Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Second Team

F Paolo Banchero, Duke

G Jaden Ivey, Purdue

G Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona

F Jabari Smith Jr., Auburn

F Drew Timme, Gonzaga

Third Team

Collin Gillespie, Villanova

G James Akinjo, Baylor

G Collin Gillespie, Villanova

F Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga

F/C Walker Kessler, Auburn

F E.J. Liddell, Ohio State

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.


Most Popular

To Top