Big 12 News

Three Big 12 Players Make USBWA Women’s All-America Team

NCAA Womens Basketball: Texas Tech at Baylor

Baylor forward NaLyssa Smith was one of three Big 12 players to be named to the U.S. Basketball Writers’ Association’s Women’s All-America team released on Thursday.

Iowa State forward Ashley Joens and Kansas State center Ayoka Lee made the second team. All three were selected to the same teams in the Associated Press All-America team released on Wednesday.

Smith, the Big 12 Player of the Year, is averaging a double-double this season, scoring 22.5 points and grabbing 11.5 rebounds. She has 23 double-doubles and has six games of at least 30 points this season as the Bears prepare for the NCAA Tournament later this week. She is the reigning Wade Trophy winner, given to the national player of the year by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.


Joens was an honorable mention All-American last year. The All-Big 12 First Team selection is now Iowa State’s all-time leading scorer as the Cyclones prepare to start the NCAA Tournament on Friday against UT-Arlington. She is averaging 20.2 points and 9.5 rebounds per game and is shooting 37.5 percent from the 3-point line.

Lee put herself on the map by setting the NCAA Division I record for points in a game with 61 against Oklahoma. An All-Big 12 First Team pick, Lee is averaging 22.4 points, 10.2 points and three blocks per game as the Wildcats prepare for the NCAA Tournament. This is her fourth selection to an All-America team so far this season (AP, The Athletic, Sports Illustrated).

2021-22 USBWA Women’s All-America Teams


F Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

G Caitlin Clark, Iowa

F NaLyssa Smith, Baylor

G Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

F Naz Hillmon, Michigan


C Elissa Cunane, NC State

G/F Ashley Joens, Iowa State

G Haley Jones, Stanford

C Ayoka Lee, Kansas State

F Aneesah Morrow, DePaul


F Cameron Brink, Stanford

G Destanni Henderson, South Carolina

C Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Maddy Siegrist, Villanova

HONORABLE MENTION (alphabetical order)

Shakira Austin, Ole Miss; Kierstan Bell, FGCU; Grace Berger, Indiana; Veronica Burton, Northwestern; Angel Reese, Maryland; Christyn Williams, UConn.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.


Most Popular

To Top