Baylor Bears

NaLyssa Smith Wins McClain Award for Second Straight Time

NCAA Womens Basketball: Texas Tech at Baylor

Baylor forward NaLyssa Smith won the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award for the second straight season on Sunday.

McClain’s award was announced during pre-game of the national championship game between South Carolina and UConn.

Smith is the second Big 12 player to win one of the position awards for the second straight year. Iowa State’s Ashley Joens won the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year award on Friday.


Smith, a senior forward for Baylor, is among the players considered to be the No. 1 overall pick in the WNBA Draft later this month.

Smith was the Big 12 Player of the Year for the second straight season and was a consensus All-American. Smith averaged 22.5 points, 11.5 rebounds, 1.1 assists and 1.2 blocks per game during the regular season. Her 25 double-doubles set a single-season Baylor record and was good for third in the country.

Earlier this season she became one of seven Bears to reach the 2,000-point, 1,000-rebound mark for her career.

Smith was part of Baylor’s run to the 2019 national championship and led the Bears to the second round of the NCAA Tournament this season.

The other finalists were Aneesah Morrow (DePaul), Angel Reese (Maryland), Naz Hillmon (Michigan) and Cameron Brink (Stanford). 

The McClain Award is named for Katrina McClain. She played on three USA Olympic teams, winning two gold medals, and was a two-time NCAA National Player of the Year for the University of Georgia. She was known as a prolific rebounder and scorer throughout her career.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

To Top