Big 12 Basketball

NBA Draft Deadline Passes with 15 Big 12 Declarations

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Texas Tech

The late declaration of Kansas guard Ochai Agbaji gave the Big 12 15 players that declared for the 2022 NBA Draft as the deadline passed on Sunday.

Those 15 players include ones that had remaining eligibility in college, ranging from players like Baylor freshmen Kendall Brown and Jeremy Sochan to players that had a COVID waiver remaining like Agbaji and his teammate, David McCormack.

The list does not include players that have run out of eligibility and are pursuing a professional career, including Kansas guard Remy Martin and West Virginia guard Taz Sherman.


Some of those Big 12 players have already hired agents and are set on staying in the draft, like Brown and Sochan. The list also includes Iowa State guard Izaiah Brockington and forward George Conditt IV.

Others are testing the waters and could return. That list includes Kansas guard Christian Braun, Baylor guard Adam Flagler and Oklahoma guard Umoja Gibson.

Another player testing the waters is Nijel Pack. He could return to college basketball, but if he does he’ll do it with the Miami Hurricanes, as he announced his transfer destination on Saturday.

Next up is the NBA Draft Combine in Chicago from May 16-22. Not all of the Big 12 players that are in the draft pool will be invited.

The NBA will hold its draft lottery on May 17. On June 1, early entry underclassmen who wish to maintain their collegiate eligibility must let the NBA know if they’re remaining in the draft pool or not. June 13 is the final deadline for all draft prospects (college and international) to pull their name out of the draft.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

Big 12 NBA Draft List

Baylor: G James Akinjo (declared), F Kendall Brown (declared), G Adam Flagler (testing waters), G/F Matthew Mayer (testing waters), F Jeremy Sochan (declared).

Iowa State: G Izaiah Brockington (declared), F George Conditt IV (declared)

Kansas: G Christian Braun (testing waters), F David McCormack (declared), G Ochai Agbaji (declared).

Kansas State: G Nijel Pack (testing waters, transferring to Miami).

Oklahoma: G Umoja Gibson (testing waters).

Texas: G Courtney Ramey (testing waters, in transfer portal).

Texas Tech: G Adonis Arms (declared), G/F Kevin McCullar (testing waters).

Declared: Not planning to return to college; Testing waters: leaving open a return to college next season.

To Top