Big 12 News

Oklahoma State, Oklahoma Golf Lead Big 12 as Top Seeds in NCAA Men’s Regionals

NCAA: Men's Golf Championship

Two different Big 12 teams are No. 1 seeds as the NCAA Men’s Golf Regionals tee off on Monday across the country.

Oklahoma State is the No. 1 seed at the Columbus Regional, while Oklahoma is the No. 1 seed at a regional the Sooners are hosting at Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club.

Texas, Kansas, Kansas State and Texas Tech are all sending teams to regionals, while Baylor and TCU both have individual players looking to advance. The tournaments end on Wednesday.


The low five teams and the low individual not on those five qualifying teams will advance to the NCAA Championships on May 27-June 1 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Oklahoma State is seeking its sixth straight regional title after winning the Stillwater Regional last year. The Cowboys have a national best 15 regional titles. The Cowboys were runner-ups at the Big 12 Tournament. The Cowboys were two shots behind Oklahoma, while Texas finished third.

The Cowboys will be led by Bo Jin, who finished third at the Big 12 Tournament. The other Cowboys set to participate include Aman Gupta, Eugenio Chacarra, Brian Stark and Jonas Baumgartner.

Oklahoma and Texas will be both at the Norman Regional, with OU as a No. 1 seed and Texas as a No. 2 seed. The Sooners are also the tournament’s No. 1 overall seed. The Sooners are making their 11th straight NCAA Regional appearance. The Sooners have three All-Americans —Chris Gotterup, Logan McAllister and Patrick Welch. Drew Goodman and Stephen Campbell Jr. round out the team.


Texas will attempt to qualify for the NCAA Championship for the 15th straight time, a streak that dates back to 2008. The Longhorns have claimed three national titles in program history, having won the team championship in 1971, 1972 and 2012.

Cole Hammer led the Longhorns with a tie for third at the Big 12 Tournament. He’ll be joined by Mason Nome, Parker Coody, Pierceson Coody and Travis Vick.

Kansas State will also play in Norman, despite finishing ninth in the Big 12 Tournament. The Wildcats will take Nicklaus Mason, Will Hopkins, Laurenz Schiergen, Tim Tillmanns and Luke O’Neill.

Baylor’s Johnny Keefer will be in Norman as an individual player.


Kansas will play at the College Station Regional held at the Traditions Club. The Jayhawks are making their sixth straight trip to regionals after finishing sixth at the Big 12 Tournament. Kansas will feature Luke Kluver, Ben Sigel, Callum Bruce, Harry Hillier and William Duquette.

TCU will have two individual players in College Station — Justin Gums and Aymeric Laussot.

Texas Tech will be at the Yale Regional, which will be held at Yale Golf Club. The Red Raiders are coming off a fourth-place finish at the Big 12 Tournament. Ludvig Aberg won the Big 12’s individual title. He’ll be joined by Andy Lopez, Calum Scott, Baard Skogen and Sandy Scott.

Follow Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top