Big 12 News

Five Big 12 Golf Teams Advance to Men’s NCAA Championships

NCAA: Men's Golf Championship

Five Big 12 men’s golf teams advanced to the NCAA Championships after the conclusion of regional action on Wednesday.

Oklahoma won its regional, while Texas finished third in Norman, Okla. Oklahoma State finished in a tie at the top with Georgia Tech in the Columbus Regional in Columbus, Ohio. Texas Tech advanced out of the New Haven Regional in New Haven, Conn., and Kansas slipped into the Top 5 at the Bryan Regional in Bryan, Texas.

The low five teams and the low individual not on those five qualifying teams in each regional advance to the NCAA Championships on May 27-June 1 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.


Oklahoma rebounded back into the lead at its own regional, firing a 12-under 276 on Wednesday, its best team score of the event. That put the Sooners 10 shots ahead of Auburn, which finished at 4-over-par for the day. After Ole Miss finished third, Texas came in fourth with a final-round of 4-under-par 284, which put them three shots behind Ole Miss for the event. Utah finished fifth.

Logan McAllister was the low Sooner, finishing with a third-round 67 to finish at 208. Four Sooners finished in the Top 10 overall.

Travis Vick finished second overall with a final-round 72, finishing with a 206. He was a shot behind Ole Miss’ Jackson Suber, who won the individual medal.

Baylor’s Johnny Keefer finished in a tie for 11th at 213 with a final-round 69.

Oklahoma State finished with a final-round 3-under-par 281, but couldn’t shake Georgia Tech. Both finished with a 10-under-par 842, finishing with a 14-shot lead over regional host Ohio State. Arkansas was fourth and East Tennessee State was fifth.

Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra won the individual crown. The Cowboy had the lead after two rounds, and he maintained it with a final-round 68, his best round of the event. He finished with a 206 and won by one shot over Georgia Tech’s Ross Steelman. Two other Cowboys finished in the Top 10 overall. The Cowboys have now won or shared seven straight regional crowns.

Kansas started Wednesday in sixth place in Bryan, and even though the Jayhawks shot a 3-over-par 291 as a team, they outdistanced sixth-place SMU by 11 shots. Arizona won the regional title, with Pepperdine, Texas A&M and Georgia advancing ahead of Kansas.

Harry Hillier and William Duquette each finished in a tie for 12th place with a 54-hole score of 215. Hillier had a 72 on Wednesday, while Duquette had a 74.

Texas Tech moved up two spots to third place to secure its spot in the championships. The Red Raiders finished in a tie for that spot with North Florida. Texas Tech shot a 6-under-par 274 on Wednesday. Wake Forest won the regional, followed by North Carolina. Georgia Southern finished fifth.

Ludvig Aberg, who won the Big 12’s individual title, had a final-round 69 for Texas Tech and finished in a tie for sixth at 205. He was one of two Red Raiders in the Top 10.


NCAA Regional Golf Results (Round 3)

Columbus Regional

Oklahoma State (10-under-par 842, tied for first place)

Oklahoma State: Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra (69-69-68—206), Brian Stark (72-71-69—212), Jonas Baumgartner (71-70-71—212), Aman Gupta (70-71-73—214), Bo Jin (70-73-76—219)

Norman Regional

Oklahoma (26-under-par 276, first place), Texas (12-under-par 852, fourth place), Kansas State (18-over-par 882, ninth place)

Oklahoma: Logan McAllister (71-70-67—208), Drew Goodman (67-73-70—210), Patrick Welch (69-72-69—210), Chris Gotterup (70-71-70—211), Stephen Campbell Jr. (74-72-71—217).

Texas: Travis Vick (67-67-72—206), Pierceson Coody (73-72-70—215), Mason Nome (72-72-72—216), Parker Coody (72-75-70—217), Cole Hammer (71-77-74—222).

Kansas State: Tim Tillmanns (74-67-73—214), Nicklaus Mason (74-73-72—220), Will Hopkins (75-73-74—222), Laurenz Schiergen (79-74-73—226), Luke O’Neill (79-75-74—228).

Baylor: Johnny Keefer (69-75‑69—213, tied for 11th) – playing as individual.

Bryan Regional

Kansas (3-over-par 867, fifth place)

Kansas: Harry Hillier (72-71-72—215), William Duquette (70-71-74—215), Luke Kluver (73-77-70—220), Ben Sigel (74-74-76—224), Davis Cooper (71-75—146, played second/third rounds), Callum Bruce (79, played first round).

TCU: Aymeric Laussot (71-73-69—213, tied for fifth), Justin Gums (70-74-75—219, tied for 24th). – playing as individuals.

New Haven Regional

Texas Tech (16-under-par 824, third place)

Texas Tech: Ludvig Aberg (65-71-69—205), Baard Skogen (68-70-68‑206), Carl Didrik Meen Fosaas (70-70-67—207), Andy Lopez (72-68‑70—210), Calum Scott (68-72‑74—214).

Follow Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard


Most Popular

To Top