Big 12 News

Five Big 12 Golf Teams Set for Men’s NCAA Championships

NCAA: Men's Golf Championship

Five Big 12 men’s golf teams will begin play in the NCAA Championships at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., on Friday.

The Kansas Jayhawks, the Oklahoma Sooners, the Oklahoma State Cowboys, the Texas Longhorns and the Texas Tech Red Raiders will take to the course for 54 holes of stroke play before the first cuts to the field begin.

Oklahoma won its own regional, finishing 10 shots ahead of Auburn. Texas was also in that regional and finished fourth.


Logan McAllister was the low Sooner, finishing with a third-round 67 to finish at 208. Four Sooners finished in the Top 10 overall, including Drew Goodman, Patrick Welch and Chris Gotterup. Stephen Campbell Jr. rounds out the field for the Sooners.

Texas’ Travis Vick came in second overall in the regional with a final-round 72, finishing with a 206. Vick will be joined by  Pierceson Coody, Mason Nome, Parker Coody, and Cole Hammer.

Oklahoma State finished in a tie for first at the Columbus Regional with Georgia Tech. Both finished with a 10-under-par 842.

Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra won the individual crown in Columbus. The Cowboy had the lead after two rounds, and he maintained it with a final-round 68. He’ll be joined in Scottsdale by Brian Stark, Jonas Baumgartner, Aman Gupta, and Bo Jin.

Kansas emerged from the Bryan Regional in fifth place with a 3-over-par 291 in the third round, which allowed them to slip into the Top 5 and advance. Harry Hillier and William Duquette each finished in a tie for 12th place with a 54-hole score of 215. They will be joined by Luke Kluver, Ben Sigel, Davis Cooper and Callum Bruce.

Texas Tech finished third at the New Haven Regional and is led by newly-crowned Ben Hogan winner Ludvig Aberg, who won the Big 12 title and finished in a tie for sixth at New Haven. He’ll be joined by Baard Skogen, Carl Didrik Meen Fosaas, Andy Lopez and Calum Scott.

After the third round, the field will be cut to the Top 15 teams for a final round of stroke play on Monday. After Monday’s fourth round, the field will be cut to the Top 8 teams for match play, which will determine the national team champion.

Follow Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top