Trending Now

ACC to Eliminate Divisions Starting in 2023

NCAA Football: Virginia Tech at Miami

The ACC has made a pivotal change to it scheduling model by eliminating divisions, effective for the 2023 football season. Instead of having set divisions, the league will implement a model that sees them play three permanent opponents and two five team rotations that will flip every other year, being dubbed the 3-5-5 model.

This change has been expected for months and will guarantee that the two teams with the top conference winning percentage will represent the conference in the ACC Championship Game each year. Athletic directors and school representatives voted to have the new model begin in 2023 and run through 2026.


“The future ACC football scheduling model provides significant enhancements for our schools and conference, with the most important being our student-athletes having the opportunity to play every school both home and away over a four-year period,” ACC commissioner Jim Phillips said. “We appreciate the thoughtful discussions within our membership, including the head football coaches and athletic directors. In the end, it was clear this model is in the best interest of our student-athletes, programs and fans, at this time.”

One of the main points made with this new model is that every team in the conference will play every other ACC opponent at their home field at least once every four years. This is quite different from the divisional setup that saw Coastal and Atlantic opponents avoid such games for years on end.

There are protected rivalries in this new model as well, ensuring that Clemson and Florida State will continue to play annually, along with matchups like North Carolina vs. Duke, Virginia vs. Virginia Tech, and Florida State vs. Miami, thanks to the permanent opponent rule.


Here are the permanent opponents for each of the ACC Schools.

  • Boston College: Miami, Pitt, Syracuse
  • Clemson: Florida State, Georgia Tech, NC State
  • Duke: North Carolina, NC State, Wake Forest
  • Florida State: Clemson, Miami, Syracuse
  • Georgia Tech: Clemson, Louisville, Wake Forest
  • Louisville: Georgia Tech, Miami, Virginia
  • Miami: Boston College, Florida State, Louisville
  • North Carolina: Duke, NC State, Virginia
  • NC State: Clemson, Duke, North Carolina
  • Pitt: Boston College, Syracuse, Virginia Tech
  • Syracuse: Boston College, Florida State, Pitt
  • Virginia: Louisville, North Carolina, Virginia Tech
  • Virginia Tech: Pitt, Virginia, Wake Forest
  • Wake Forest: Duke, Georgia Tech, Virginia Tech

Most Popular

To Top