Baylor Bears

Best Football Players Who Stayed Home in the Big 12 Era

NCAA Football: Oklahoma at Iowa State

In the Big 12 era, this conference has seen some fantastic talent from all over the country. However, sometimes the best talent is right under a coach’s nose in their home state.

This is a list of players who stayed home and became legends at a school right up the road.

This list includes only the accomplishments at each institution.



Robert Griffin III

Quarterback (2008-11); Copperas Cove H.S.; Winner of 2011 Heisman Trophy and Davey O’Brien Award; 2011 AP Player of the Year; All-Big 12 and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (2011).


He helped lead the Bears to a 10-3 record and No. 12 final ranking—both the best in 25 years.

Iowa State

Allen Lazard

Wide Receiver (2014-17); Urbandale H.S.; All-Big 12 (2017).


ISU’s all-time career leader in receptions and yards.



Nick Reid

Linebacker (2002-05); Derby H.S. (Wichita); two-time All-Big 12 and Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year (2005).


Jayhawk’s leading tackler three-straight years.

Kansas State

Terence Newman

Cornerback (1998-2002); Salina Central H.S.; Jim Thorpe Award winner, unanimous All-American, All-Big 12 as a cornerback and a kick return specialist; Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year (2002).


Newman was chosen on All-Big 12 team in two categories—defense and special teams.



Jason White

Quarterback, (2000-04); Tuttle H.S.; winner of Heisman Trophy and A.P Player of the Year (2003); winner of Maxwell Award and Unitas Award (2004); winner of Davey O’Brien Award (2003 and 2004); unanimous All-American (2003); All-Big 12 (2003-04); two-time Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (2003-04).


He came back from two knee surgeries (in 2001 and 2002) and then lead the Sooners to two National Championship games (in 2003 and 2004).

Oklahoma State

Rashaun Woods

Wide Receiver (2000-03); Millwood H.S. (Oklahoma City); two-time All-American and two-time All-Big 12 (2002-03).


Woods holds record for most career receptions and receiving touchdowns at OSU.


Trevon Moehrig

Safety (2018-20); Smithson Valley H.S. (Spring Branch); 2020 Jim Thorpe Award winner; 2020 All-American; two-time All-Big 12 (2029-20).


Moerig won the Jim Thorpe Award, making him TCU’s first major award-winner in the Big 12 era.


Colt McCoy

Quarterback (2006-09); Jim Ned H.S. (Tuscola); winner of Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award, and Unitas Award (2009); two-time Walter Camp Player of the Year; two-time All-American (2008-09), unanimous in 2009; All-Big 12 and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (2009).


McCoy holds numerous career passing records for the Longhorns—yards, touchdowns, victories, and highest pass efficiency rating.

Texas Tech

Michael Crabtree

Wide Receiver (2006-08); Carter H.S. (Dallas); two-time Biletnikoff Award winner (2007-08); two-time unanimous All-American and two-time All-Big 12 (2007-08).


Winning the top receiving award in just two years on the field (Crabtree redshirted in 2006).

West Virginia

Darius Stills

Defensive Tackle (2017-20); Fairmont H.S; consensus All-American (2020); two-time All-Big 12 (2019-20); Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year.


Stills was awarded with a top Big 12 honor.

To Top