Big 12 News

College Baseball Showdown Announces Big 12 And SEC Lineup

Ryan Bogusz

Three Big 12 and three SEC teams will play in the College Baseball Showdown at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas, next February.

Oklahoma State, Texas and TCU will represent the Big 12 in the three-day event, set for Feb. 17-19, 2023.

Arkansas, Missouri and Vanderbilt will represent the SEC.


Texas will join the SEC no later than the 2025-26 athletic season.

Texas is coming off a trip to the College World Series, where the Longhorns lost their two games to Notre Dame and Texas A&M to be eliminated from contention. The program’s top single-season home run hitter, Ivan Melendez, was recently selected in the MLB Draft.

Oklahoma State is coming off a season in which it reached the NCAA postseason and hosted its own regional, where the Cowboys ultimately succumbed to Arkansas, which reached the College World Series, where it lost to Ole Miss one game short of reaching the best-of-three championship series against Oklahoma.

TCU is coming off a season in which it broke in a new head coach in Kirk Saarloos and reached the NCAA Tournament, where the Horned Frogs went to the College Station regional and lost to their former head coach, Texas A&M’s Jim Schlossnagle, 15-9, to be eliminated.

In addition to Arkansas, Vanderbilt is a recent national champion, having won the 2019 crown with a pitching staff anchored by recent Texas Rangers first-round pick Kumar Rocker. Missouri is coming off a season in which it failed to reach the SEC Tournament.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

To Top