Baylor Bears

Oklahoma’s Taylor Robertson on Shooting Guard Watch List

Taylor Robertson of Oklahoma women's basketball

Three Big 12 players — including Oklahoma guard Taylor Robertson — are on the watch list for the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, given to the nation’s best shooting guard.

Robertson is joined by Baylor Ja’Mee Asberry and Texas’ Sonya Morris.


Robertson was an All-Big 12 First Team selection a year ago and is on the Preseason Team, announced last week. She is the best 3-point shooter in Big 12 history, male or female, as she broke the all-time record for 3-pointers last season.

Now, Robertson is within striking distance of both the NCAA Women’s and Men’s records this season.

Asberry played for Baylor last season. An All-Big 12 Honorable Mention selection last season, she passed 1,000 career points, made 80 3-pointers and averaged 9.5 points per game.

Morris transferred to Texas from DePaul during the offseason. She was a finalist for this award last year and left DePaul with 1,668 career points. She averaged 17.6 points last season.

The award is named for Meyers Drysdale, who was the first player, male or female, selected to an All-America Team in four straight college seasons. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates, which can be added to during the season.

Previous winners of the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award are Christyn Williams, UConn (2022), Ashley Owusu, Maryland (2021), Aari McDonald, Arizona (2020), Asia Durr, Louisville (2019) and Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State (2018).


2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

Jade Loville, Arizona

Taylor Mikesell, Ohio State

Ja’Mee Asberry, Baylor

Taylor Robertson, Oklahoma

Celeste Taylor, Duke

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Cameron Swartz, Georgia Tech

Elena Tsineke, South Florida

Sara Scalia, Indiana

Jordan Horston, Tennessee

Hailey Van Lith, Louisville

Sonya Morris, Texas

Diamond Miller, Maryland

Charisma Osborne, UCLA

Leigha Brown, Michigan

Azzi Fudd, UConn

Jakia Brown-Turner, NC State   

Ashley Owusu, Virginia Tech

Jaz Shelley, Nebraska   

Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State

 You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top