Big 12 News

Rori Harmon, Emily Ryan On Nancy Lieberman Watch List

NCAA Womens Basketball: Texas at Tennessee

Iowa State’s Emily Ryan and Texas’ Rori Harmon are on the watch list for the Nancy Lieberman Award, given to the nation’s best point guard.

Ryan and Harmon are two of the best points guards in the Big 12 and were both named to the Big 12 Preseason Team last week.


Harmon was the Big 12 Tournament Most Outstanding Player last March and helped the Longhorns to a trip to the NCAA Tournament’s Elite Eight.

Ryan was All-Big 12 First Team last season as he helped the Cyclones reach the Sweet 16.

The award, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), is in its 24th year. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center).

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include: Caitlin Clark, Iowa (2022), Paige Bueckers, UConn (2021), Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04) and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).


2023 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List

Destinee Wells, Belmont

Deja Kelly, North Carolina

Jenna Annecchiarico, College of Charleston

Olivia Miles, Notre Dame

McKenna Hofschild, Colorado State

Te-Hina Paopao, Oregon

Caitlin Clark, Iowa

Makenna Marisa, Penn State

Emily Ryan, Iowa State

Lauren Park-Lane, Seton Hall

Chrislyn Carr, Louisville

Dyaisha Fair, Syracuse

Alexis Morris, LSU

Jasmine Powell, Tennessee

Haley Cavinder, Miami (Fla.)

Rori Harmon, Texas

Myah Taylor, Mississippi

Gina Conti, UCLA

Anastasia Hayes, Mississippi State

Jenna Clark, Yale

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top