Big 12 Basketball

Texas’ Taylor Jones On Lisa Leslie Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Texas Tech

Texas center Taylor Jones is one of 20 players on the 2023 Lisa Leslie Award Watch List, announced by the Basketball Hall of Fame earlier this week.

Jones is the only Big 12 player on the initial watch list, though former Texas center Lauren Ebo — who transferred to Notre Dame last season — is on the list as well.

Jones, a 6-foot-4 center, transferred to Texas from Oregon State after last season.


Last season Jones played just nine games before suffering a season-ending injury, but still averaged 12.4 points and 6.9 rebounds per game.

As a sophomore in 2020-21, Jones averaged 12.3 points and 8.8 rebounds. As a true freshman in 2019-20, she averaged 12.3 points and 7.3 rebounds, as she earned All-Pac-12 freshman honors after setting the OSU record for blocked shots.

Named after the three-time All-American,1994 National Player of the Year and Class of 2015 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its sixth year recognizes the top centers in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Previous winners of the Lisa Leslie Award are Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (2020-22), Megan Gustafson, Iowa (2019) and A’ja Wilson, South Carolina (2018).


2023 Lisa Leslie Award Watch List

Quay Miller, Colorado

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Kennedy Brown, Duke

Francesca Belibi, Stanford

Mackenzie Holmes, Indiana

Lauren Betts, Stanford

Monika Czinano, Iowa

Tamari Key, Tennessee

Josie Williams, Louisville

Taylor Jones, Texas

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State

Ila Lane, UC Santa Barbara

Alexis Markowski, Nebraska

Dorka Juhasz, UConn

Lauren Ebo, Notre Dame

Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech

Sedona Prince, Oregon

Emma Grothaus, Washington

Lucy Cochrane, Portland

Bella Murekatete, Washington State

 You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top