Big 12 News

Moussa Cisse Leads Big 12 on Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Texas Tech

Three Big 12 players — including Oklahoma State’s Moussa Cissé — are on the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, given to the nation’s best shooting center.

The other two Big 12 players on the list are Iowa State’s Osun Osunniyi and Texas Tech’s Fardaws Aimaq.

Cissé was the 2022 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year last season, averaging 20 minutes per contest. He averaged 7.2 points per game with 6.5 rebounds, 1.86 blocks and 0.3 assists. He led the Big 12 in blocked shots.


Osunniyi transferred to Iowa State from St. Bonaventure, where he left as the program’s all-time leader in blocked shots (305), along with being one of six players in program history to record more than 1,000 points and 800 rebounds. He was the Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year the last two seasons. He averaged 11.3 points, 7.5 rebounds, 2.9 blocks and shot 61.3 percent from the floor last season.

Aimaq played at Utah Valley last season. He was the 2021 and 2022 WAC Defensive Player of the Year and the 2021 WAC Player of the Year. In three seasons of college basketball he has 1,056 points (12.7 per), 918 rebounds (11.1) and 99 blocks (1.2). Aimaq won’t play until at least Big 12 play due to a broken left foot.

The winner of the 2023 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award are Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky (2022), Luka Garza, Iowa, (2020 and 2021), Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (2019), Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).


2023 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Watch List

Charles Bediako, Alabama

Oumar Ballo, Arizona

PJ Hall, Clemson

Ryan Kalkbrenner, Creighton

Dereck Lively II, Duke

Colin Castleton, Florida

Osun Osunniyi, Iowa State

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Hunter Dickinson, Michigan

Armando Bacot, North Carolina

Moussa Cissé, Oklahoma State

Kel’el Ware, Oregon

Zach Edey, Purdue

Clifford Omoruyi, Rutgers

Fardaws Aimaq, Texas Tech

Adem Bona, UCLA

Adama Sanogo, UConn

Branden Carlson, Utah

Jamarion Sharp, Western Kentucky

Jack Nunge, Xavier

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top