Big 12 Basketball

2023 March Madness Complete Women’s Schedule, Dates, TV Times

NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament Trophy.

‘March Madness,’ or the 2023 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament will feature the South Carolina Gamecocks as the defending champion. Can they defend their crown? Or will another team crash the final dance?

The selections for the 68-team field will be on Sunday, March 12.

The 2023 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament will start on March 15 and 16 with the First Four games. First-round games are set for March 17-18, while second-round games will be March 19-20.


Beginning in 2023, the Sweet 16/Elite Eight will be held at two sites per year, with eight teams competing at each site.

The Sweet 16 is set for March 24-25, while the Elite Eight will be on March 26-27.

The Final Four will be at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. The Final Four is set for 7 and 9:30 p.m. ET on Friday, March 31 on ESPN. The national championship game is set for 3 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 2 on ABC.

What do you need to know to get ready? Heartland College Sports has all the details so you can prepare to plan to attend the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament, or at the least watch it on television.

2023 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament Schedule

(all games are on the ESPN family of networks)

Selection Show: Sunday, March 12, time TBA

First Four Games

March 15-16

First Four game sites, times and dates will be announced during the selection show.

First and Second Round Games

March 17-20

First-round (March 17-18) and second-round (March 19-20) sites, times and dates will be announced during the selection show.

Sweet 16 and Elite Eight

March 24-27

Bon Secours Wellness Arena, Greenville, S.C., time and dates TBA

Climate Pledge Arena, Seattle, Wash., time and dates TBA

Final Four

March 31 and April 2

Target Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Future Final Four Dates, Locations

April 5 and 7, 2024: Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland, Ohio

April 4 and 6, 2025: Amalie Arena, Tampa, Fla.

April 3 and 5, 2026: Talking Stick Resort Arena, Phoenix, Ariz.


All-Time NCAA Tournament Champions

2022    South Carolina

2021    Stanford

2020    No Tournament due to the coronavirus pandemic

2019    Baylor

2018    Notre Dame

2017    South Carolina

2016    Connecticut

2015    Connecticut

2014    Connecticut

2013    Connecticut

2012    Baylor

2011    Texas A&M

2010    Connecticut

2009    Connecticut

2008    Tennessee

2007    Tennessee

2006    Maryland

2005    Baylor

2004    Connecticut

2003    Connecticut

2002    Connecticut

2001    Notre Dame

2000    Connecticut

1999    Purdue

1998    Tennessee

1997    Tennessee

1996    Tennessee

1995    Connecticut

1994    North Carolina

1993    Texas Tech

1992    Stanford

1991    Tennessee

1990    Stanford

1989    Tennessee

1988    Louisiana Tech

1987    Tennessee

1986    Texas

1985    Old Dominion

1984    USC

1983    USC

1982    Louisiana Tech

To Top