Big 12 News

TCU QB Max Duggan Named Davey O’Brien Award Finalist

NCAA Football: Kansas at Texas Christian

TCU quarterback Max Duggan has been named as one of three finalists for the Davey O’Brien Award, presented annually to the nation’s top quarterback.

Duggan is joined by Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud and USC quarterback Caleb Williams as the finalists for the award.


Since the award was established in 1977, a TCU QB has never won the award despite its namesake coming from the famed TCU signal-caller, Davey O’Brien.

O’Brien led the Horned Frogs to the 1939 National Championship, still the most recent Horned Frog championship to this day, and won the 1938 Heisman, which is still TCU’s only Heisman winner.

According to a TCU press release, Duggan is fourth in the nation in passing efficiency with a 171.3 rating. He is tied for second among Power 5 quarterbacks, one off the lead, with 16 touchdown passes of at least 20 yards and has accounted for three or more touchdowns in eight of his 11 starts this season. 

A Council Bluffs, Iowa, native, Duggan leads the Big 12 in passing efficiency, touchdown passes (29), completion percentage (66.6), passing yards (3,070), yards per attempt (9.3) and yards per completion (13.9). He has thrown just three interceptions. The completion percentage ranks second for a season at TCU while the touchdown passes and his 34 touchdowns responsible for (29 passing, 5 rushing) are third.

To Top